visions of salt

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

etemp714

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone, new guy here. New to forums pretty much in general. I was looking through pictures of sump tanks last night and I came across a thread on a reef build. I ended up spending the next 3 hours straight reading through this forum. I found it very information and inspiring. I am a noob in the fish world. Ive been runnning a cichlid tank for the last couple months. I built my own stand and canopy, which I learned alot about do's and dont do's for the next build. I have been scouting LFS and I am currently trying to plan out a reef build in hopefully the near future. So im gonna look around and hopefully gain knowledge here and eventually jump in and get my feet wet in this forum. So ill see ya around:fish2:

Hello. Good job researching. Research until you know the do(s) and dont(s) forward, backward, reverse, and upside down. You'll end up with LONG-term success, which many hobbyist do not achieve.

Welcome to our wacky corner of the web :)

Hope you enjoy your stay, give it a week and you'll be hooked!!!

Its crazy, ive been doing the freshwater thing for a min but im just blown away by the difference in fresh vs. salt. I want a large salt tank but my lease only allows me to have a 20 gal. tank since im on the second floor. I have been looking all over the internet for deals and im thinking im gonna start piecing my components one by one over time until i can setup a big tank with a sump. everyone i talk to says it doesnt pay to build with cheap components so ill take my time and get all the right stuff but im curious what i can do now to get my feet wet and start a small tank. What would you guys recommend doing?