Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-28-2011, 11:51 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
pistolero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 166
It held!
Siphoned it out and brought it in the house last night.
__________________

__________________
pistolero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 02:48 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
redsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 8,066
Welcome! Hope you like it here!
__________________

__________________
Please don't forget about the toxins in some corals (like zoas and palythoas)
180 gallon reef announcement!:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMgmb124jrs&t=35s
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 07:14 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
pistolero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 166
Well, I put PFS in it and filled it up today. It's very cloudy. I thought I had it rinsed out well enough, but apparently not. Picked up an Aquaclear 70 for it today.
__________________
pistolero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 09:59 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
You might wanna wait to run the filter till the sandiness settles because I've heard of it gritting up the filter and messing it up
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 10:43 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
pistolero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 166
YES! I didn't want to run my new Aquaclear in it, so I hooked up the used Whisper 20-40 that came with the tank for a while and the wife complained about the noise (it was loud). So I waited until it was a little less cloudy and tried the Aquaclear and let it run an hour or so. Well it got plenty of fine sand in it so I cleaned it out and the tank is just sitting there now. I put a double dose of Clarity in it, we'll see.

The Aquaclear does run very quiet! It moves a lot of water though, even on low. I'm gonna have to see if I can slow the flow somehow or I'll never be able to use sand with this filter in this tank.It pushes out a big hole in front of the filter and keeps it stirred up.
__________________
pistolero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 10:54 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
Ohh haha...I have an ac in a 30 with sand and don't have that problem? It should stop when the hole gets deep enough
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 05:55 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
pistolero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 166
Okay I gave up on the sand already. I would have waited it out but the wife & kids couldn't stand looking at it like that. Tried to convince them they might as well get used to being more patient because we're not putting any fish in it until it's cycled.
Emptied/cleaned it all out. It's got white aquarium gravel in it now and halfway filled back up with clear water. I have a couple of ideas about the filter flow, might silicone some kind of deal to the back glass right under the outlet to redirect and diffuse the water.
__________________
pistolero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 06:07 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
You shouldn't need to if its not kicking up sand?
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 06:38 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
pistolero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 166
Probably wouldn't have to but I might anyway.
__________________
pistolero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 09:13 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
pistolero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 166
Update.
Well I figured out from some measurements I found in a link from a post on this site that it's a 40 long not a 50/55.
I think I fixed the huge waterfall problem I had. I took one of the spare sponge pads I bought for the Aquaclear 70 and siliconed it to the back glass right where the output from the filter comes out. Works great so far.
Never posted pics on this forum before but if I did it right here's a pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	000_1003.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	136.6 KB
ID:	46246  
__________________

__________________
pistolero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.