What have I gotten myself into? =D

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Nonie

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi there,

I am totally new to the aquarium world. I agreed to let my office have a fish as an office pet and impulsively went and bought a betta and a small aquarium at Petco on 4/2/18. Fortunately I started looking into it before I set the tank up and returned it the next day for a 5 gallon Fluval spec. But I knew nothing about cycling. And all the paraphernalia that goes with a fish! =)

I have aquarium sand in the bottom, a live plant, a soft plastic plant, a silky feathery plant, a floating log, plus a couple of decorative things for him to hide in. Plus the filter that came with the tank and a preset heater and a thermometer. The tank stays about 76 degrees. I made a baffle for the outflow tube with a plastic water bottle, making sure there were no soft edges (George loves to play in there, the nutcase!). I have been putting in cappa leaves.

I love my little half moon betta (George). He is an absolute hoot and I don't regret for one minute getting him. I did hire a zebra nerite snail (Fred) and a bristlenose pleco (Emmet) as housekeeping staff a week and a half later, on the advice of the fish person at Petco, still not really understanding cycling.

I got a test tube water kit and have been tracking the water quality. I'm doing water changes weekly (so I've done 3 partials by now). I do about a gallon and a half at a time with a siphon vacuum.

My pH bounces a little, but not overly much. We have hard water in our area. At first I was using purified drinking water, but after testing our well water here, I used that for part of yesterday's water change. I add a tsp of Aqueon Betta Bowl Plus to every gallon.