what is the best filter for a 55 gal fresh water tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lboden2003

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I just started a 20 gal fresh water aquarium about 2 months ago.
I just bought a 55 gal tank and will move my fish to this. I am researching filter types and would love to hear from others with experience since I am brand new at this.

AquaClear filters are great. The filter media is cusomizable and the is a lot of room for the media as well.

I have two Marineland Bio-Wheel Penguin 200 on mine. They are great, never had an issue. A lot of people recommend AC on here, but Marineland is a great option too. Canister filters are great from what I have read, but I've never done one before.

What kind of fish are going into this tank? That's big for decision making too.

I like plenty of filtration so I have a Rena Filstar XP3 and a Aquaclear 50 (in case I need a quarantine tank).

X2 On the Aqua Clear. I am running an Aqua Clear 70 for my 46 gallon bowfront and I love how quiet it is, and its nice to be able to choose your own filter media instead of the standard carbon filters.

I run a Top Fin 60 in my 55 gallon and I am seriously considering getting the Aqua Clear 110 for it, instead!

I have an Aquaclear 110 on my 29 Gallon and love it...so far, the filter media is big enough so i don't have to clean it daily(like my previous TopFin 30) and there are alot of available options to use other types of media with it..If my tank was just a little wider, i'd use Both an AquaClear 110 and an Emperor 400 next to each other