Yep I'm a newbie too! And I need urgent help please!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Karlz

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,

Our leap into keeping fish happened when my son adopted a small tank with a goldfish called "Frank" who looked like he had been through a wringer from someone who couldn't be bothered looking after him anymore. He had a bulging eye and a distended tummy.

We thought Frank was lonely so got him a friend "Zippo" and they grew to the stage where there was no room for them to move anymore So that brings us to now - we have just upgraded to a 75 ltr tank, cycled it for a week and checked all levels with the pet shop who told us to add a bit of this and a bit of that and get the fish in there ASAP as she was surprised they weren't dead living in the small environment :nono:

Anyway things are now turning pear shaped. Frank has become quite lethargic and sitting on the bottom of the tank and Zippo has become quite erratic chasing Frank around and just generally racing around the tank hitting things. He also has started getting white patches on his body. I've read about Ich but I have no idea what I'm looking at. Also today white dots have started to appear on plants and filter in the tank. Can anyone give me some incite as to what is going on please? Have attached a photo but not sure how to attach more.

:thanks:

I looked at your albums and saw

The fish it kinda liked liked natural colorations
I don't know for sure. Somebody help me here

Thank you for reply but Omg you are going to think I'm an idiot but I just realised what it is with the white patches - we have never had a light over the tank so never seen them. I have just turned off the light and looked over and can't see the markings anymore. It's a blue type light so obviously it was showing them up. What a dill!