Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-21-2006, 11:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 55
10 Gal sump for 29 gal?

Hey,

I am going to be building a stand for my 29 gal, which is now on an old solid computer desk in my room (hey, I'm 16 ) and I was wondering about a sump. I realize my tank is a bit small to be putting a sump on but it just seems like it would be nice from all the things I hear about them.

I'm just going to ask a bunch of questions that I need to figure out...I'm still trying to work out just exactly how a sump works. So here we go!

I use two HOB filters to filter my tank right now...if I add the sump, can I just put them on the sump? Will they work the same? Just as well?

What protein skimmer should I get? (I need one either way)

Do I have to section of the sump? It's kinda small for all that.

Can I put my heater in the sump?

How do I set up the whole flow system? Here is what I am imagining in my head as to how it works... I would silicon a piece of glass in the back right corner of the tank so that I have the corner cut off, then, I have slits at the top of that piece of glass to let the water flow over into that "area". I have a hole in the side bottomish of the tank behind that glass, so the water that flows over, goes out the hole falls down through some pvc straight into the 10 gal below. Then I have all the filters, heaters, skimmers, bubbly things and some rock for bio down there. And then on the other side of the 10 gal, I have a pump that pushes the water back up and into the tank again?

Does that sound right? How do I drill the glass? From what I understand only the bottom of the tanks are tempered so its ok to drill the side? How to I attach the PVC to the tank opening? What pump should I be using to push the water back up? And how do I direct the return flow once in the tank again?

Thanks in advance!

Kyle
__________________

__________________
kylebacc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 12:08 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 145
No setup is too small for a sump... the more water the better, so I'd go as large as you can.

As far as plumbing, instead of drilling the tank you can get a hob overflow.. you would need a single-output. Most of the off-the-shelf overflows of this type are rated at about 300gph. The return pump needs to be sized such that it doesn't overtake the overflow - be sure to account for head loss. Hint: The mag5 outputs 300gph with four feet of head pressure and can be further reduced with a ball valve between it and the output hose.

heater can go in the sump.. on skimmers there are as many opinions as there are fish in the sea.. the common ground here is that you shouldn't buy a seaclone as a skimmer.
__________________

__________________
Neilster1
neil.derryberry@gmail.com

Have questions about satellite tv? Visit us at http://www.dbstalk.com
neilster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 12:19 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jersey
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to tcarola154
Make sure your return line to the tank either has a swing check valve or it is high enough to the point where backflow wont be an issue. (a lot of people dont think about this until it is too late)

As for the HOBs, you can use them if you would like (I doubt they would work on the sump because normally sumps have too low of a water line). Just make sure you have some sort of mechanical filtration to remove small particles in the water, so your water looks crystal clear.
__________________
Beware the clapping monkey...
tcarola154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 01:07 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 96
Why not get a 20 gallon? I have a 29 gallon with a 20 gallon sump. The 20 gallon fits perfectly in my stand.
__________________
aznbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 07:30 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 298
DIY 15 gallon sump, which I use on my 29 gallon reef:



That's a Coralife 65 Superskimmer, and a Mag5 return pump. That pic is about 4 months old, it looks a bit different now, with a lot of quick-growing cheato in the fuge, with some LR rubble, a few snails, and a small peppermint shrimp.
__________________
20 20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 09:53 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 145
Great looking sump! I'm planning on converting my wet/dry to be more like this. How are you liking the CSS?

Not intending to hijack the thread.. I think kylebacc could benefit from the discussion..
__________________
Neilster1
neil.derryberry@gmail.com

Have questions about satellite tv? Visit us at http://www.dbstalk.com
neilster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 12:17 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 298
Well, since it's the first skimmer I've owned, I have nothing to compare it to, but once I got it set up and 'adjusted', it seems to be pulling a decent amount of dark skimmate, so I'm happy with it.
__________________
20 20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 03:59 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcarola154
As for the HOBs, you can use them if you would like (I doubt they would work on the sump because normally sumps have too low of a water line). Just make sure you have some sort of mechanical filtration to remove small particles in the water, so your water looks crystal clear.
What kind of mechanical filtration would I put in instead? thanks!
__________________
kylebacc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 05:43 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 145
Your skimmer would suffice for mechanical if you have enough live rock for biofiltration.. in the picture he has a 180 micron bag tied to the end of the overflow hose, the overflow likely has a sponge prefilter.
__________________
Neilster1
neil.derryberry@gmail.com

Have questions about satellite tv? Visit us at http://www.dbstalk.com
neilster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 12:53 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Halifax Canada
Posts: 236
I've got a 10 gal sump on a 20 gal DT. IMO its not overkill and its great for many reasons!
__________________

__________________
65 gal reef
EQUIPMENT:
2 PC's 192W each , 20 gal sump/fuge
LIVESTOCK:
4 false clowns, 2 firefish, cardinal, midas blennie, toadstool, zoos, shrooms, trumpet coral, torch, pagoda, frogspawn, poylps, red open brain, devils hand, hermits, snails, 3 cleaner shrimp, coral banded and a emerald crab.
canyon15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
planing 70 gal.fish only with 50 gal sump/seahorse tank miesenjr DIY Projects 0 03-03-2009 10:58 PM
Transfer of 58 Gal reef w/ HOB to 68 gal reef w/ sump nanoluvr Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-28-2009 06:05 PM
29 gal sump Koopa_34 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 10-13-2008 11:00 PM
29 gal sump mykpoz DIY Projects 6 07-04-2005 09:49 AM
Sump for 20 gal reef mrpope Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 06-18-2004 02:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.