10g planted with just gravel, + fish, snails

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

traceyrollin

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok hello everyone. I'm a newbie. I'm Tracey. I've got a 10g tank... with a tiny filter... I want to do a canister filter because the one I put in originally is just not moving enough water. It works off the air pump. Considering the fact that I don't need a really high flow rate because I have a beta and a couple Chinese algae eaters that are simply not good swimmers, I've had both types of fish sucked up in water fall filters before. I don't want that to ever happen again because I love betas and it's heartbreaking for me. What specs should I look for? Do they even make a canister filter for 10 gallon tanks? And hang on side is just not an option because I'd have to baffle the intake with some netting to prevent fish sucking and killing. Thanks in advance for any help. Here is a recent picture to give yous a better idea of what I've got going on...

Attachments

• 1475930075686.jpg
    1475930075686.jpg
    199.4 KB · Views: 129
Also I'm due for a water change on Wednesday as usual. And I dose with liquid ferts 3 times a week, drop in co2 daily.

Sent from my SM-G550T1 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

You can get foam prefilters to cover the siphon on a HOB filter.

We use them to protect our snails and fry. The only trick is to squeeze them out when you do water changes.

the tiny computer is full of delicion!