Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-13-2009, 01:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
asudavew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 365
Exclamation 110 help! Reseal questions.....

Hi everyone.

I bought a used 110 gallon tank about 3 months ago.
I've been working on cleaning it up and building a stand.

The aquarium was up and running when i bought it. It had no leaks.

But.. the silicon that was sealing the inside was loose around the edges and was discolored from algae etc....

So i removed it all, cleaned the area with acetone, taped it off, and resealed it with silicon.

Yesterday, after I was done, I started "Googling" cure times.
While doing so, I found a number of people who suggested not resealing a large tank, but to completely break the tank down and rebuild it.

Since there were no previous leaks... should the tank be Ok?

Thanks in advance for you help!


Dave
__________________

__________________
A fish in the hand is worth two in the tank?
or something like that....
Here's my 110 build .. .
asudavew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 01:36 PM   #2
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
IMO you should be fine. As long as you have a nice heavy bead and worked the edges to get a good bond. I might be missing it but the total breakdown would be what you did and removing the bracing, only to put the bracing back and reseal correct?

I've re-sealed an edge but never all the edges.
__________________

__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 03:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
asudavew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainAhab View Post
I might be missing it but the total breakdown would be what you did and removing the bracing, only to put the bracing back and reseal correct?
The articles and comments I read recommended removing the silicone between panes, separating the 5 pieces of glass, and then reassembling the whole aquarium.

... so it made me a bit uneasy...
__________________
A fish in the hand is worth two in the tank?
or something like that....
Here's my 110 build .. .
asudavew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
seal

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I reseal? Used 75 cjldad General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 10-11-2009 03:00 AM
got a free tank but would like to reseal it FastFly67 DIY Projects 1 02-28-2009 09:54 PM
How do I reseal tank. cconemanband Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 08-03-2005 01:06 PM
Do I need to reseal a used tank (15yrs old)? Todd2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 09-11-2004 12:21 PM
To Re-seal or not to reseal? jratuszn Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 06-30-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.