Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-01-2013, 08:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ian14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 357
120g tank filters

Will a fluval 306 and fx6 be enough for a 120 tank with a good amount of fish? And should i put any extra media in the fx6?? I know it comes with media but I know that some people out in extra since there is room for it, if so what media?
__________________

__________________
Ian14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 09:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian14 View Post
Will a fluval 306 and fx6 be enough for a 120 tank with a good amount of fish? And should i put any extra media in the fx6?? I know it comes with media but I know that some people out in extra since there is room for it, if so what media?
That would be plenty. What will be your stock? I would stuff the fx6 with as much biomedia as possible and use the 306 as a polisher (purigen and polyfill).
__________________

__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 09:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ian14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by bshenanagins View Post
That would be plenty. What will be your stock? I would stuff the fx6 with as much biomedia as possible and use the 306 as a polisher (purigen and polyfill).
I was thinking a couple cory cats. A couple of neon tetras and then maybe a group of another type of fish and then a centerpiece fish. You think I'd need a water pusher or power head?
__________________
Ian14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 11:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Idts, the output on the FX5 is pretty strong and you also have the 306 you should be fine
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.