Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-13-2011, 12:57 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: West Chester PA
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Scoop531
150 Gallon No filter help!!

Just picked up a 150 gallon tank for 100 bucks!! No holes are drilled nor has an over flow. He gave me a Little Giant 1300 GPH inline pump. While out I also picked up a approx 10 Gallon plexiglass media filter box that is divided in half with bioballs in half of it for 10 bucks. But thats all I have for a filtration system. Im a carpenter and could make anything up! What would I need to do to make this work, are there any good DIY articals. Or pictures of setups so i can get some ideas? I dont want to drill my tank if possible
__________________

__________________
TheWet Pethttp://www.TheWetPet.net
Scoop531 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 01:00 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
drill it and build a sump out of a standard tank (not the 10 gallon).
Drilling GH
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 09:43 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
What are you planning to do with the tank? If SW then I agree you should drill it and build a sump but if going FW then I think a canister may be better IMO. You wouldn't need to do any drilling that way.
__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 11:52 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: West Chester PA
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Scoop531
Im going FW with cichlids

Here some more info

The sump box i have is about 15 gallons i was thinking hang on over flow Im going to a raid some more items from the pet store that closed today maybe ill find some more goodies
__________________
TheWet Pethttp://www.TheWetPet.net
Scoop531 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 12:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
What are you planning to do with the tank? If SW then I agree you should drill it and build a sump but if going FW then I think a canister may be better IMO. You wouldn't need to do any drilling that way.
i agree with smitty. all you need is a cannister filter.

what store closed?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 12:10 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: West Chester PA
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Scoop531
Fishman Down in Delaware They owed the building owner lots of back rent. I talked him into letting me take a peak at whats left over. I didnt see much but maybe i can find something decent to start with
__________________
TheWet Pethttp://www.TheWetPet.net
Scoop531 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 03:05 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
yeah..i was there a couple days ago. a few big tanks in the wall and a whole bunch of 15 gallon tanks available.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 11:12 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
I'd still go the sump route on a FW tank of that size. A 30g-55g will make a good sump for a tank that size. The sump tank doesn't have to be pretty, so you can get one pretty cheaply. I got an old braceless thick-glass 55g at a garage sale for $10. It'll be a sump for my big tank if I ever get the time and money to set it up.
__________________

__________________
A man's errors are his portals of discovery.
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
150 gallon, 50 gallon, filter, filter help

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
150 gallon special lighting Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 08-29-2010 01:56 PM
Filter help with 150 gal. freshwater tank Cherie Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 08-22-2007 09:05 PM
Lighting for a 150 gallon or 180 gallon janek Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 8 08-27-2006 04:04 PM
Penguin 150 w/ BioWheel Filter TXFish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-20-2005 06:33 PM
150 Gallon tank filter? xcuter General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 04-07-2005 08:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.