Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-31-2009, 12:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
2 HOB Filters in 38 Gal Aquarium?

Is it good? if I put 2 HOB filters(rated for 20 Gal Aquarium) in 38 Gal Aquarium? Currently I have 2 Fantail and 1 Red Oranda in 15Gal Aquarium and thinking to upgrade to bigger aquarium. I found one 38 Gal aquarium on sale at local Fish Store. I am getting only aquarium and canopy. No Filter or anything else, since I have a spare HOB filter, I am thinking to use 2 HOB filters. But I'm not sure if this is ok or not.
Thanks..................
__________________

__________________
j402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 12:29 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
blue71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 126
I wouldn't, I would go with a AquaClear 70 on that, or an Emperor 280, It also depends on the filter, what type of filter are they? But goldfish create lots of ammonia, so another reason I would go with a filter with media like that because then you can put in ammo-lock.
__________________

__________________
blue71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 11:15 PM   #3
Algae Fighter
 
JustOneMore20's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,872
Send a message via MSN to JustOneMore20
Agreed, I'd get a filter that is rated for close to double your tank size. The 2 rated for 20g won't cut it IMO...especially for goldfish. I might even do an Aquaclear 70 plus one of your filters rated for 20g.
__________________
~Kristin~
2 planted tanks: 40g, 20g ; 38g Reef tank
My links to pics: 40g breeder planted build, 40g breeder planted update, My 38g Reef Build

JustOneMore20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 10:50 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
john73738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 33
My 55g is running 2 Marineland 200b filters on a Cichlid tank. I am a firm believer in overfiltering. I am on the road for work a lot, and getting the water changes done regularly is sketchy at best. I recently went almost 10 months between water changes, and when I had the water checked it was near spot on, slightly high amonia. (the filter media did get changed monthly). I agree with filter to double the size of your tank, and I am an advocate for the marineland penguin filters.
__________________
john73738 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 03:55 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: honolulu
Posts: 222
please disregard the above post.
there is no such thing as "slightly high" ammonia levels.

overfiltering a tank, is always a great idea, however, it does not remove the need for waterchanges.

given that you are dealing with goldies, which have a high bio-load, you are going to want to bump up your filtration. i would definitely suggest going with an ac70.
__________________
exodon king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 09:14 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
john73738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 33
Sorry do agree that filtering does not take place of regular water changes and should have included that in my original post. But I disagree with there is no such thing as "slightly high amonia" When I had the water tested my amonia level was at the bottom of the chart, now any amonia is evil to my fish so I took action, and also taught my Step Sons how to do the gravel vac'ing and water changes. No more 10 month waits til water change.

But moral of the story is to add my two cents on the Marineland filters.
__________________
john73738 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 01:02 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 184
I have always been a huge fan of under gravel filters with power heads and then using an external filter to supplement. I really like Aquaclear filters. This combo seems to work for me very well.
__________________

__________________
thuffman03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, filters, hob

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOB filters Joetoyc Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 12-30-2009 04:51 PM
2 HOB Filters in 38 Gal Aquarium? j402 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 19 11-07-2009 03:45 PM
Flourite and HOB filters AquaJoe Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 12-24-2007 01:23 PM
HOB Filters bobtrop General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 02-01-2005 08:26 AM
SeaClear and HOB filters? Richie General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-21-2004 11:47 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.