Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-01-2010, 10:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
2 RO Units to 1 Pressure Tank?

Hey all,

I have a Water General 75 GPD RO/DI filter that is going into a 20g Pressure tank.

When I bought my house it had a Culligan 30 GPD RO System for drinking water & Freezer Ice. I have disconnected that unit and put my 75 GPD unit in it's place, But I was wondering if I can reconnect the 30GPD unit and have it deliver water to the 20g Pressure tank with the 75 GPD unit giving me increased production?

I know it obvioiusly can be physically done, but will it work?

Also if anyone else here has a 20g Pressure tanke, what PSI do you have your bladder set to and how much water does it actually hold?

Thanks for the help,

-TheChad
__________________

__________________
90 Gallon Drilled Glass Tank w/ Corner Overflow: 492w (2x 150w 14,000K MH, 2x 96w Actinic CF) Coralife Aqualight Pro | Custom 34x15x15 Sump/Refugium | SWC Skimmer | Coralife Turbo-Twist 6x UV Sterilizer | Maxi-Jet Power Head w/Sure Flow Upgrade Kit | 120lbs of Live Rock | 100lbs of Live Sand
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 10:25 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
it is not recommended to drink DI water, and if you connect the RO only unit, your fish will not be getting DI water any more.
__________________

__________________
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 10:49 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabezon View Post
it is not recommended to drink DI water, and if you connect the RO only unit, your fish will not be getting DI water any more.
Okay, Thanks for the reply though I'm not sure what it has to do with my question?

But I will respond by letting you know that the water stored in the 20g pressure tank is RO only water, The drinking water & ice maker are RO only water. To get DI water I have a seperate valve in my utility closet that runs the RO water from the 20g pressure tank threw the DI resin thus making RO+DI water for the fish tank.

-TheChad
__________________
90 Gallon Drilled Glass Tank w/ Corner Overflow: 492w (2x 150w 14,000K MH, 2x 96w Actinic CF) Coralife Aqualight Pro | Custom 34x15x15 Sump/Refugium | SWC Skimmer | Coralife Turbo-Twist 6x UV Sterilizer | Maxi-Jet Power Head w/Sure Flow Upgrade Kit | 120lbs of Live Rock | 100lbs of Live Sand
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO/DI units....need help bavass General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 02-25-2010 08:45 PM
RO/DI units - which one? Caige General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 08-20-2008 05:02 PM
Where to find a larger Pressure Tank for RO/DI System? TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 06-17-2006 09:56 PM
RO/DI units? Hookman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 11-03-2003 06:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.