Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-28-2011, 11:45 AM   #171
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdultra View Post
I'm putting in AFRICAN CICHLID's.
Thanks for clearing that up. With africans I think I'd skip the plants altogether and just build a giant rock structure. One of my LFSs has 75G african tank set up with a lot of Texas Holey rock and it looks really good with just the rocks.
__________________

__________________
ďA man's errors are his portals of discovery.Ē
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 11:51 AM   #172
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tim Wheatley's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Frankfort, IL
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdultra View Post
I'm thinking of staggering the run time. During the day I think I will run both.
And at night have one shut down while there is sleep time. It's just a thought in my mind right now. I'm sure I will get some advise on that.

It make sense to me thou.
Not sure that'll work out too well. I wouldn't want sediment to settle and possibly block things. Also the FX5 clears itself of gases automatically. When you turn it on it'll start and stop a few times, then it'll start/stop every 24 hours to clear them.

The 24 hour check doesn't disturb my fish, but whenever I turn the filter off completely and restart the startup test definitely does. My Silver Dollars try to swim through the glass. You'd be subjecting the fish to that shock every day, my SDs only get it when I rinse the filter out and have it off. Not sure how jumpy Africans are, but the SDs would hate that... My Oscar doesn't pay it any attention though.
__________________

__________________
My Fish Videos | My Fish Photos
Tim Wheatley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 11:57 AM   #173
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdultra View Post
I bought one of these reef keepers to control everything in the tank.
It will switch on and off lights. Control times for the FX5's.
Also will control the heater I bought.

The RKE system includes two PC4s; that's 8 outlets to control! You also get an SL1 that will allow you to monitor pH, ORP, temperature and two switches; not to mention a free temperature probe and pH probe.

I'm a electronic freek, I love gadgets.

Rookie I already know, It's a waste of money..... LOL
We got the RKL system, It controls 8 outlets as well I think, I know we are running the Co2,lights and heaters off them and that is 7 outlets right there.

It makes things alot easier to monitor. and on a large tank its a modern marvel.
Here it is running

The other half of the SL1's slaves screwed to the pantry wall on the left(this is all clean now and on their own electrical board)


we are redoing the tank room and pulled all the face boards off the stand, I think I am going to drill a hole and use a desk plug and route all the wires thru there instead of from behind the tank.

half the parameters at a glance, life is good LOL
__________________
That's not a planted tank. That's a jungle with glass around it- MFDROOKIE Circa 2011
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 12:00 PM   #174
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
I gotta agree with TIM on the filter staggering.
__________________
That's not a planted tank. That's a jungle with glass around it- MFDROOKIE Circa 2011
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 12:09 PM   #175
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Wheatley View Post
Not sure that'll work out too well. I wouldn't want sediment to settle and possibly block things. Also the FX5 clears itself of gases automatically. When you turn it on it'll start and stop a few times, then it'll start/stop every 24 hours to clear them.

The 24 hour check doesn't disturb my fish, but whenever I turn the filter off completely and restart the startup test definitely does. My Silver Dollars try to swim through the glass. You'd be subjecting the fish to that shock every day, my SDs only get it when I rinse the filter out and have it off. Not sure how jumpy Africans are, but the SDs would hate that... My Oscar doesn't pay it any attention though.
The only thought there was power consumption. Yes at start up the pump runs for two minutes and then shuts down to release bubbles. Then at every 24 hours it shuts down again to release more bubbles. Don't you think either way it's going to do it at 24 hours anyway.
I hear you on the sediments, I would think the two mechanical filters in the FX5's would catch most sediments before they get to the Biomax media.
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 12:10 PM   #176
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteDevil View Post
We got the RKL system, It controls 8 outlets as well I think, I know we are running the Co2,lights and heaters off them and that is 7 outlets right there.

It makes things alot easier to monitor. and on a large tank its a modern marvel.
Here it is running

The other half of the SL1's slaves screwed to the pantry wall on the left(this is all clean now and on their own electrical board)


we are redoing the tank room and pulled all the face boards off the stand, I think I am going to drill a hole and use a desk plug and route all the wires thru there instead of from behind the tank.

half the parameters at a glance, life is good LOL
That's a cool setup. Heck that's a science project.
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 12:15 PM   #177
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tim Wheatley's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Frankfort, IL
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdultra View Post
The only thought there was power consumption. Yes at start up the pump runs for two minutes and then shuts down to release bubbles. Then at every 24 hours it shuts down again to release more bubbles. Don't you think either way it's going to do it at 24 hours anyway.
I hear you on the sediments, I would think the two mechanical filters in the FX5's would catch most sediments before they get to the Biomax media.
The startup test is much worse than the 24 hour one. My SD's don't care about the 24 hour, but as I said they are terrified of the startup. The 24 hour doesn't give time for the siphon effect to give air issues in the tubes, the startup does.
__________________
My Fish Videos | My Fish Photos
Tim Wheatley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 01:38 PM   #178
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdultra View Post
That's a cool setup. Heck that's a science project.
the filters are below the bottom cut off of that pic. I lost alot of pics when my comp went down so Im missing 2 months worth of pics so I got before the before and afters lol.

Its nuts but its doing the job, that bottom pic will be updated next saturday when I move 3 big blues to under the RO on the left and just run them off a mag drive 950 then back under the tank to the UV filter then back into the tank. It was all hard plumbed but had to ditch that to make room for electrical surface lines behind the 210.
__________________
That's not a planted tank. That's a jungle with glass around it- MFDROOKIE Circa 2011
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:41 AM   #179
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Puggle88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa USA land of the corn, beans, and cows oh my! I made that up in 2007
Posts: 108
Omg!!!!!! That sounds sooo fricken cool!! How much does owning one of those huge tanks cost? 5,000 bucks? And that kind of cycling set up must take foreverzz! U guys must be fricken loaded. Lol. Id be too lazy and too impatient to take care of a big tank like that any way so when i wanna go see an awsome fish tank i go sit by the cool huge ones at awsome restrants. Lol. My tanks only a 5 gallon, but i still love it. good luck with ur's cuz it sounds to me like all that time and money is definantly worth it! U should randomly put a chubby gold fish in there. Lol jk gold fish are silly. But it would Be cool and kindof funny. Lol but any way GOOD LUCK!
__________________
Puggle88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 01:11 PM   #180
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Well people I got the tank up and running finally. I had bought some filter media at the LFS. And put it in there filter system's for 2 weeks. I hope this helps the cycling go a little faster. I put the filter media in both FX5's. And then took my Marineland 280 that was cycled in my 55 gallon tank and set it up in the new tank temporarily. At least until it cycles.

I used prime as the dechlorinate, Temp is 77f.

After 12 hours of running I took water test and they are:

Ammonia .50
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
PH 8.8

The PH is a little high for me. I put a piece of African driftwood in there, hoping it will help bring it down some.

The tank is somewhat cloudy right now.
__________________

__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
20 gallon, 220, 220 gallon, build, cichlid, filtration, gallon, ich, tan, tank build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
225 gallon Oceanic tank build, need some help! Andrew Henry Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 03-02-2010 01:33 PM
Considering 180 Gallon tank Build InfernoST DIY Projects 1 06-12-2009 03:52 PM
launch's 220 build launch Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 02-23-2009 11:02 PM
180 Gallon Tank Stand - Build Log IMPERATORFAN DIY Projects 32 01-20-2005 12:48 AM
PROTEIN SKIMMER FOR 220 GALLON TANK FOWLR????????? PRINCE_NAMOR Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 9 11-24-2003 02:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.