Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-13-2011, 01:59 AM   #51
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: West Chester PA
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Scoop531
Sorry if this sounds stupid I figure more filtration is a good thing but why 2 FX5's isnt each one rated for up to a 400 gallon tank? Wouldnt just one be more then enough? Im setting up a 150 Gallon and need a filter system.
__________________

__________________
TheWet Pethttp://www.TheWetPet.net
Scoop531 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 12:30 PM   #52
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoop531 View Post
Sorry if this sounds stupid I figure more filtration is a good thing but why 2 FX5's isnt each one rated for up to a 400 gallon tank? Wouldnt just one be more then enough? Im setting up a 150 Gallon and need a filter system.
Yes 1 would be sufficient for the tank. I'm a filtration freak when it comes to cichlid tanks. Because the tank is 72"L 24"W 30"H I want good waste pick up on both sides of the tank. And clean water flow on both sides. Yes it is overkill.
I know there other things to move water. I though why not get filtration at the same time.

For a 150 you need 1 rated for 300 gallons. Tim turned me onto eBay, wow what a price difference. I saved about 150 Bucks on 1 filter. One of these would work fine for your system. or 2 fluval 405's etc. There are lots of good other models and brands. I'm sure a few people here will give you more suggestions. I'm a Hagen Fan...... and Marineland.....

My 55 has a Fluval 405 and 2 Marineland 280's. Overkill again lol
__________________

__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 12:42 PM   #53
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoop531 View Post
Sorry if this sounds stupid I figure more filtration is a good thing but why 2 FX5's isnt each one rated for up to a 400 gallon tank? Wouldnt just one be more then enough? Im setting up a 150 Gallon and need a filter system.
What the manufacturer claims vs reality if often different. I wouldn't use just one filter on any tank bigger than 75g. While one FX5 is certainly sufficient for a 150g tank, I would definitely use 2 for anything bigger than 180, especially because of the length of the tank. Also, what if one fails? You've got a backup already running. Good rule of thumb is to take the manufacturers claim and half it.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 12:49 PM   #54
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mudraker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,652
Though I'm no expert on giant tanks, I totally agree with using double the fitration manufacturers suggest.

Double filtration also gives you an edge should one of the filters fail.
__________________
mudraker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 12:58 PM   #55
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tim Wheatley's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Frankfort, IL
Posts: 1,342
Just to agree. Filter is rated for 400gal, but that is without any media. With the media it flows at a much slower rate and after it's been running for a little while I'm sure that flow decreases even further.
__________________
My Fish Videos | My Fish Photos
Tim Wheatley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 02:38 PM   #56
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Heaters:

I picked up two of these 300 watt Hagen Fluvals on eBay.
There rated for 100 gallon tanks I hope that they will be effective and not under powered. I like the digital display.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 02:40 PM   #57
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
two 300w heaters should be fine in your tank... I would position them close to the intake of the two FX5's though to help distribute the heat evenly throughout the tank.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 02:47 PM   #58
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516 View Post
two 300w heaters should be fine in your tank... I would position them close to the intake of the two FX5's though to help distribute the heat evenly throughout the tank.
I like that.

The intakes for the fluvals I think should be about 3" above the substrate correct.
Or should I stagger the intakes one high and one low?
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 02:49 PM   #59
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
You're using sand, right? I'd keep them higher than 3"... I have one about 5" from the substrate on one end of the tank, and one about 10" up on the other side... I'd put them about 12-16" from the end of the tank, and at least 6" from the substrate. It's up to you whether you want to stagger them, but I think it makes sense to.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 03:20 PM   #60
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
As you know I like the Carib Sea only because of the benefits. With the PH, GH, and KH properties is a plus to me. As we have discussed before in other post, I know what your preference's are. We are still thinking of a few live plants here.
As you said earlier buy few and see what happens with the fish. Weather they are going to eat them or dig them out. There are several choices with this substrate from Carib Sea
The cost for the substrate is going to be around $220.00.

I would like a substrate that will show off the fish. And also support plant life.
I'm concerned if I go with one that is eco complete for plants and the fish tear up or eat the plant's. And then I can't keep plants. I will have the wrong substrate then. Will plants grow in sand ?
__________________

__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
20 gallon, 220, 220 gallon, build, cichlid, filtration, gallon, ich, tan, tank build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
225 gallon Oceanic tank build, need some help! Andrew Henry Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 03-02-2010 01:33 PM
Considering 180 Gallon tank Build InfernoST DIY Projects 1 06-12-2009 03:52 PM
launch's 220 build launch Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 02-23-2009 11:02 PM
180 Gallon Tank Stand - Build Log IMPERATORFAN DIY Projects 32 01-20-2005 12:48 AM
PROTEIN SKIMMER FOR 220 GALLON TANK FOWLR????????? PRINCE_NAMOR Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 9 11-24-2003 02:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.