Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-17-2011, 01:08 PM   #71
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJim View Post
That's a ton of light, even for a planted tank. Are you planning to run CO2?
No Jim no co2, I'm just wanting the lights to have the built in moon lights.
As far as plant just a few hear and there depending on how the fish mess with them. Is that to much light?
__________________

__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 01:18 PM   #72
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
I think you're in danger of major algae out breaks with that light. Most people use MH lights only over the most serious planted tanks.

Are you at all electrically inclined? It wouldn't be too difficult to fab up your own moonlight fixture. On a tank that large, I think I'd use a few decent shop lights for the main lighting and I'd build an LED moonlight setup with a couple pieces of aluminum, some blue LEDs, and a power supply.
__________________

__________________
“A man's errors are his portals of discovery.”
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 01:24 PM   #73
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
I would definitely stay away from that light. Like Jim said, you are asking for a massive algae outbreak. Granted the bulbs are not the best for plants - they are 15k - but I still think you would have issues.

I would ask WhiteDevil what fixture he has over his 220g discus tank. He grows lots of plants and has no algae issues. I'm sure it is well under the 1000watt mark though.
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 01:41 PM   #74
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by meegosh View Post
I would definitely stay away from that light. Like Jim said, you are asking for a massive algae outbreak. Granted the bulbs are not the best for plants - they are 15k - but I still think you would have issues.

I would ask WhiteDevil what fixture he has over his 220g discus tank. He grows lots of plants and has no algae issues. I'm sure it is well under the 1000watt mark though.
That is great advise. I was just putting my feelers out there. I'm not familiar with wattages and what is the right one for the tank. It came with a 72" florescent light. With Marineland bulbs. They say Natural Daylight on them with no wattage on the bulbs. I just like cool tecky stuff.

Thanks Jim & Meegosh

Looks as that I can wire up some type of leds for the hood lights. Should not be to difficult. Back to ebay here I come.
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 02:16 PM   #75
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tim Wheatley's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Frankfort, IL
Posts: 1,342
If it helps, here are the strips I use:
SolarMax 48" T5 Aquarium Tank Strip Light Fixture - eBay (item 300416233941 end time Mar-05-11 18:08:13 PST)
I don't get much green algae, more brown and not much now. Plants seem fine in the tanks I have these on without co2 (thriving, infact - I just moved some plants from this bulb to another tank and I think they're dead). It's a 10000k bulb. It's a deep blue brand, which is the same as my tank is. I actually rec'd one bulb broken the first time I bought from the seller, they sent me cash (at my request) via Paypal so I could go out and buy my own replacement bulb. Good seller.

I should note I do occasionally have more lights on my tanks, I actually have a strip I put on the side, too, but that's usually to take photos.
__________________
My Fish Videos | My Fish Photos
Tim Wheatley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 07:54 PM   #76
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
I finally got the tank in place. And I'm thinking 2000 to 2500 lbs.
Hmmm can my sub-floor handle this weight. I'm not sure. I look into the basement and I have 2x8 Floor Joice. Do you think I'm pushing the limits here.
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:05 PM   #77
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tim Wheatley's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Frankfort, IL
Posts: 1,342
220 gallons = 1835lbs (does not include the TANK, sand, rocks, etc)... I personally think you need to do something...

I've drawn up 'napkin plans' for my 375 gallon and I am going to build a concrete frame with wood from the basement foundation and build a concrete tower (by pouring into the wood frame) for the tank to sit directly ontop of above it. Then will put a facade of a stand around the thing up on what can be seen on the first floor. So I'm actually using concrete as the stand.
__________________
My Fish Videos | My Fish Photos
Tim Wheatley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:39 PM   #78
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Wheatley View Post
220 gallons = 1835lbs (does not include the TANK, sand, rocks, etc)... I personally think you need to do something...

I've drawn up 'napkin plans' for my 375 gallon and I am going to build a concrete frame with wood from the basement foundation and build a concrete tower (by pouring into the wood frame) for the tank to sit directly ontop of above it. Then will put a facade of a stand around the thing up on what can be seen on the first floor. So I'm actually using concrete as the stand.
I think your right. I'm going to go out and get 3 2x8 to shore it up. I hope it does the trick. The tank alone is about 500lbs.

You know what I broke three of the rim hose connectors trying to get them in place. The glass is a 1/2 thick. What the heck were they thinking with that design. I can't gettem over the thick plastic part. They are ten buck a piece.
__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:23 PM   #79
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,110
I have a 10 x220 litre tanks and 2x 375 litre tanks, and a few more small ones on 100 year old wooden floor boards that are mounted on stump posts. The water alone weighs nealy 3000kg (6,600lbs) floor is sound and have had no problems. The weight is spread over the whole 11ft x 8ft (approx) room.

I think in most situations the weight issue is over thought to be honest, especially if the tank is near the wall which is the strongest part of the floor.

However you need to see how many joists are taking the weight and if the joists have enough support to transfer the weight down to the ground. If the weight is spead across a number of joists and the weight is distributed over a greater area you should be fine. If the floor flexes when filling the tank, that would signal that there isn't enough support. Tank placement in the strongest position is key.
__________________
mattrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:45 PM   #80
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WendiDell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: McMinnville, Oregon
Posts: 1,713
I think I'd go crazy if I had a 220g tank to keep up.I have a hard enough time reaching the top of one of my 55g tanks that came with a tall stand. I have to use a ladder to clean and do PWC. It's a bit of a PITA
What are the dimension on a 220g tank? Just curious.
__________________

__________________
WendiDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
20 gallon, 220, 220 gallon, build, cichlid, filtration, gallon, ich, tan, tank build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
225 gallon Oceanic tank build, need some help! Andrew Henry Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 03-02-2010 01:33 PM
Considering 180 Gallon tank Build InfernoST DIY Projects 1 06-12-2009 03:52 PM
launch's 220 build launch Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 02-23-2009 11:02 PM
180 Gallon Tank Stand - Build Log IMPERATORFAN DIY Projects 32 01-20-2005 12:48 AM
PROTEIN SKIMMER FOR 220 GALLON TANK FOWLR????????? PRINCE_NAMOR Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 9 11-24-2003 02:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.