Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-17-2013, 12:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Hi all

I have a 55gal freshwater with some medium light plants. I decided to try out a T5 because my led setup only had 16 bulbs and I don't think it was enough for plant growth in that little aquarium. Its a 4 foot fishneedit light with 4 6700 bulbs and it is way too bright for the room.

Will a T8 bulb hood (aqueous strip) provide enough light for these plants to thrive? Are there bulbs I can get fir the T5HO that will provide the spectrum necessary, but diffuse the brightness in the room?

Thanks!
Josh
__________________

__________________
Joshstraps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Quick follow-up: I have a 15gal with a screw-in bulb...I think 150w, and the plants grow great in there. It about 4 inches less shallow than the 55gal, but would hope two 18" bulbs would suffice for plants in the 55gal

I guess what we are going for is a softer light. Maybe switching to three of these and a 10000k whit would be better?

http://m.petco.com/product/119118/Aq...cent-Bulb.aspx

Hopefully all of this provides enough to piece the solution together.
__________________

__________________
Joshstraps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: aprox 30 minutes from The Wet Spot :)
Posts: 287
So you and I have a similar setup. I've also got a 55gal with a 4 light t5 system. What I've done, until I start running CO2 is to disconnect two of the bulbs and am running 1 6700K bulb and one floral bulb.

Along with ferts it's actually growing my plants rather well over the last couple of weeks.

So you could just drop a couple of the lights and should be fine.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------

Your tank cannot be complete without a pleco. It's IMPOSSIBLE.
Scott F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:53 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
How about putting a blue lamp or two in there? It will tone down the brightness and also make everything look awesome.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott F View Post
So you and I have a similar setup. I've also got a 55gal with a 4 light t5 system. What I've done, until I start running CO2 is to disconnect two of the bulbs and am running 1 6700K bulb and one floral bulb.

Along with ferts it's actually growing my plants rather well over the last couple of weeks.

So you could just drop a couple of the lights and should be fine.
Have you had any problems with fish keeling over? I put this lamp on yesterday and this afternoon one I my mollies sunk. He didn't seem too happy with the light.

I'm more of a traditional aquarium owner. Open box, cycle tank, put in plants and fish. I have an xp4 filstar filter on this one and a better heater, but lighting mods are new to me. Is the co2 to replace what the light pulls out of the water?

I thinking of just selling it and going with a T8 shop light with a daylight and plant bulb. I've seen several threads that have gotten great results.
__________________
Joshstraps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 06:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
How about putting a blue lamp or two in there? It will tone down the brightness and also make everything look awesome.
I like that idea, but this is more for my one and three year old. My tank is on an antique cabinet that is about 3 feet off the ground and is in our main play area. They can't be in there without squinting
__________________
Joshstraps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 12:12 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Taranis17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshstraps View Post

Is the co2 to replace what the light pulls out of the water?
No. plants need CO2 for cell growth.

Using the 2.5 WPG rule as a basis, you don't need to run CO2 unless the plants demand it. Typically, the more light at the right spectrum you have going into the tank, the more CO2 and ferts (macro and micro) you need to dose to keep your plants healthy and stave off algae. The key is to find the right balance that works for your tank when it comes to lighting.

Correspondingly, the less light, the less necessary it is to dose CO2. Remember that some is already dissolved at the tap, as well as from fish respiration and gas/atmosphere exchange at the surface.
__________________
Taranis17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 12:30 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Thank you. That helps a lot. I assume this is what they mean by high-tech
__________________

__________________
Joshstraps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blind, light, t5 light

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.