Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-27-2011, 12:38 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
55 gal freshwater aqua tower

I am looking to get information and help with maintaining a 55 gal 8ft freshwater aqua tower, I set it up 2 weeks ago and finding everything is a challenge especially the scaping. Any help would be great.
__________________

__________________
woodsan33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 05:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Lawngnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 121
you could use one of those arm extension grabber things, but even that wont do much. Sounds like a cool tank but its going to be a PITA to take care of.
__________________

__________________
~Josh
Lawngnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 09:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
yeah can you post a picture? how much room does it have? 8ft sounds like theres not much more room for fish to swim
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 10:01 AM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 11:23 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
The foot print is 16"x16"x80" just to get it started I put 12 really small fish in, they don't seem to mind they are very active, the tank is from midwest tropical model #690 not sure how to upload a photo here. I too thought of the grabber tool I just ordered a 72" model, I think that will work fine. It's gonna work better than me just dropping everything in. I used a long pole with two spoons taped to it. It didn't give me the exact location I wanted. I already added a large rock formation and a piece of baranacle also plastic plants that I was able to snap together to give a kelp like look to. I found a jellyfish I could suppend to put more focus on the middle section. I guess it's going to be trial and error. We have 20' ceiling so this tank looks right in place here.
__________________
woodsan33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 05:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Lawngnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 121
The way that you upload a picture is to post it in a picture hosting site like tinypic is what I use.
TinyPic - Free Image Hosting, Photo Sharing & Video Hosting
once you upload the picture it will give you the code to post on a forum or message board as one of the options. After you have copied the link of the pic take it back to this page and where you type a reply for this in the message box click the little box above, its the second to last one that looks like a landscape with mountains. paste the code into there but erase the IMG at the end along with the punctuation marks.
What you might want to do with a tank that big is find some plants that can grow pretty tall to fill the empty space, also adding bubbles could be a fun thing to watch rise to the top. Plants like this might be your best bet because how hard its going to be to clean this tank. choose the correct substrate and the fish waste will be used as nutrients for the plants.
Just my thoughts, hope I helped.
__________________
~Josh
Lawngnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 12:24 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Since the tank is fairly new it's not taking much cleaning now, I did get a 25' garden hose and added a gravel cleaner to it, I took my house vacumn and was able to get suction, it worked great for draining . I like the idea of bubbles but how can I get something that would go to the bottom with a long cord I don't like cords showing. Is there's one I could get that would suspend from the top and blow down, there is a shelf at the top where are the cords are placed. Can you recommed a good source? Thank you for the info on the photo, I'll give that a try.
__________________

__________________
woodsan33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, freshwater

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
25 gal freshwater lionheart Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 4 03-25-2010 06:00 PM
How often can I add Aqua-Cycle in Freshwater tank? masai_chadi Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 10-24-2007 02:23 AM
Leaning Tower of Aquarium Regen311 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 08-16-2007 04:49 PM
attempt at tower Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-24-2006 10:43 AM
Bubble lamp tower INTO 4ft tower tank blac DIY Projects 2 03-27-2006 04:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.