60 Gallon Tank unleveled

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jess Pena

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone,

I'm pretty new at setting up a large tank. My new tank I got is a 60 gallon tank and I am setting it up on the second floor of my house. I was wondering if that's why it could be unleveled and if it's safe. I added some water and substrate to it but I'm scared to add more because of how unleveled it looks. I can't place it downstairs and upstairs is my only option. Are there any precautions I should take before filling it all the way up? Or any tips for making it leveled? I wouldn't want it to tip over or crack in the back, any information is appreciated!

Thanks so much!

Attachments

• IMG_0032.jpg
    IMG_0032.jpg
    150.5 KB · Views: 50
I would drain the water, place a level on top, and use wood shims at the lowest point under the tank's stand or cabinet to level it. Be sure to run the level side to side and front to back.

You can always test how level the floor is and how level the stand is as well. What's under the floor under your setup?

Good call stopping the filling.

I would drain the water, place a level on top, and use wood shims at the lowest point under the tank's stand or cabinet to level it. Be sure to run the level side to side and front to back.

That sounds good lol. Should I level the tank on the stand or just the stand itself?

You can always test how level the floor is and how level the stand is as well. What's under the floor under your setup?

Good call stopping the filling.
Yeah I'll probably do that, and the tank and stand are just standing on carpet. Unsure of what's under the carpet though.