Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-01-2011, 07:16 PM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
A Quick Query Regarding the AquaClear 110's Flow Control...

The return flow on my 110 appears to be ridiculously strong and forceful at the maximum setting of the adjustable valve (the position all the way to the left, according to the manual), causing an extremely powerful current in the tank that my goldies are seemingly having a bit of a hard time navigating. I tried playing with the control knob a bit last night, and even on the "minimum" flow position -- to the extreme right -- there does not appear to be a difference between the positions in terms of the flow, from what I could tell...

Is this common with the ACs? Should I be seeing a greatly reduced return output when I move the knob all the way to minimum? No matter where I position it, the water flow doesn't seem to reduce...it remains the same, as far as I can tell...
__________________

__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 07:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JOMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MARYLAND
Posts: 1,164
are you saying the filter flow is too much for the fish or it is making to much of a splashing noise?
__________________

__________________
Brought to you by Joey's brain.
__________________
Hakuna matata.
JOMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 07:36 PM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOMA View Post
are you saying the filter flow is too much for the fish or it is making to much of a splashing noise?
No -- it's not the noise. It's the current/flow inside the tank, where the return force "splashes" under the water...it's causing a wild current that's making the (plastic) plants wave and move aggressively, and the fish seem to be blown about by it when they pass the area...

The issue is, though, when I move that stalk that's supposed to control the output flow, I don't really note a difference in the current...it's as if the current doesn't get any weaker, or smaller, when I move the stalk into the minimum position (all the way to the right)...
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 07:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JOMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MARYLAND
Posts: 1,164
the adjuster thing doesnt do a whole with with both of my aquaclears (a 50 and 20) but with my 50 i put this on there Step-By-Step Filter Baffle to help stop the strong current because i have female bettas in there and they were being blown around. it works really well. i also duct taped the top part to the cover of the filter
__________________
Brought to you by Joey's brain.
__________________
Hakuna matata.
JOMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 07:45 PM   #5
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Thanks for the feedback JOMA.

So, you're saying that what I am experiencing is normal -- that is, no matter what the position of the flow stalk, the flow doesn't seem to even change?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 07:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JOMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MARYLAND
Posts: 1,164
mine works a little bit, when you move the tube thing see if the part of the tube that goes back down into the filter actually moves away from the propeller input, if that doesnt move then the flow wont be slowed.
__________________
Brought to you by Joey's brain.
__________________
Hakuna matata.
JOMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 07:53 PM   #7
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOMA View Post
mine works a little bit, when you move the tube thing see if the part of the tube that goes back down into the filter actually moves away from the propeller input, if that doesnt move then the flow wont be slowed.
Yeah -- it seems like it MAYBE works a LITTLE bit when I push it to the extreme reduced flow position...but it does appear to be "moving" that tube away from the propeller input from what I can tell.

Does this mean I have a defective unit?

Do you recommend just leaving it on the maximum flow position, or perhaps in the "middle" somewhere?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 07:57 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JOMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MARYLAND
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osage_Winter View Post
Yeah -- it seems like it MAYBE works a LITTLE bit when I push it to the extreme reduced flow position...but it does appear to be "moving" that tube away from the propeller input from what I can tell.

Does this mean I have a defective unit?

Do you recommend just leaving it on the maximum flow position, or perhaps in the "middle" somewhere?
not , really, probably because the 110 has such a powerful motor moving the tube a lot might not slow it down much. if you use that filter baffle i linked you can probably almost run full blast, my 50 does and you wouldnt even be able to tell. the bottle does break the surface a little but its not very noticeable.
__________________
Brought to you by Joey's brain.
__________________
Hakuna matata.
JOMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 08:04 PM   #9
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOMA View Post
not , really, probably because the 110 has such a powerful motor moving the tube a lot might not slow it down much.
Is this in response to my question about me having a defective unit, or if I should leave it turned to the middle?

Quote:
if you use that filter baffle i linked you can probably almost run full blast, my 50 does and you wouldnt even be able to tell. the bottle does break the surface a little but its not very noticeable.
I will consider it; thanks for the suggestion.

What I am wondering, though, and hence the point of the thread, was if this tends to be a "normal" behavior for the AquaClear line -- and according to what you're telling me, even your smaller models do this...

Is it just because of their powerful motors? I mean, that's not a BAD thing at all, but...
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 08:13 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JOMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MARYLAND
Posts: 1,164
mine work okay but the smaller one definitely changes the most in flow so im thinking its just that the motor sucks so much water moving the inlet tube doesnt effect it much
__________________

__________________
Brought to you by Joey's brain.
__________________
Hakuna matata.
JOMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear, control, flow, ick

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emporer 280 - Flow Control? neilanh General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-23-2007 02:19 PM
DIY Sump flow control question Ksnell DIY Projects 2 07-19-2006 12:48 PM
Aquaclear HOB: Water flow adjustment... Protege Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 10-30-2005 11:37 PM
Eheim 2213 flow control yeldarb General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 01-13-2005 10:02 AM
flow control to/from sump KLN DIY Projects 3 04-05-2004 05:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.