Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-23-2009, 10:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
asudavew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 365
A used 125 gallon

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forums and new to a large tank.

Right now I have a 10 gallon, 30 gallon (just cycled), 35 gallon, 55 gallon all with fish.

But I just acquired this set up:

A 125 gallon tank, with a 25 gallon acrylic wet/dry sump, a heater, gravel, rocks, stand (gonna build a new one) and a CPR overflow (1200 GPH i think) for 200 dollars. I was quite happy.
And then the guy I bought it from threw in a 30 gallon complete setup with a stand. (That made my wife happy!)

The 125 gallon wasn't in great shape. I still have lots of cleaning to do and I had to scrape the back because it was painted black and the paint was chipping and falling off. It also had loads of mineral deposits on the frames and on the European bracing. (I've managed to get rid of most of it.)

But I do have some questions.

The silicon that seals the inside of the tank is green, has mineral deposits on it, and it just plain ugly.

So would it be wise to scrape it out and re-silicon the tank? Or should I leave well enough alone?

And if so, is there any silicone available at Lowe's or Home Depot that is non-toxic to the fish? Those little tubes at the fish store are expensive and it would take probably 5 or 6 of them. Plus the large tubes that fit in caulk guns would be much easier to handle.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

And I'm glad I found this forum!

Loads of good info and friendly folks.
Thanks for having me.


Dave
__________________

__________________
asudavew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 12:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
asudavew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 365
A pictured of the used tank

I just wanted to post a picture of the setup I bought.

I've thrown away the light/hood.

And I am in the process of cleaning up the tank.

I intend to build a new stand for it.

I did find many scratches on the front of the tank. Will that be a problem?(structurally?)

The back of the tank, that I scraped black paint off of has no scratches, so it will be the new front.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	125 gallon purchased.JPG
Views:	76
Size:	21.2 KB
ID:	17186  
__________________

__________________
asudavew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 01:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
HoCkEyGmC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,008
Send a message via AIM to HoCkEyGmC
im in the same position as u rite now with a free 55 gallon. im torn. we ended up getting some silicon thats like 15ft worth of silicon. idk the price tho.
__________________
HoCkEyGmC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 05:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
asudavew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 365
Could you tell me where and what kind of silicon you got?
__________________
asudavew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 07:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Moved
Posts: 270
I can't remember what silicone it was that you can get at lowes/HD that is safe in Aquariums, I think it was GE silicone 1 but you should confirm this, got to Monster Fish Keepers and do a search on silicone and you should be able to find it there. You can get a tube that fits on a caulking gun from Dr Foster Smith cheaper than at the LFS. I would reseal it since you have to clean it all up any way.

When you set up your 125 and sump you can use some of the biomedia from your other tanks so you don't have to cycle your 125, you might go through a mini cycle. If you can add more media to each of your filters in your other tanks and only clean that media with tank water, then in 2-4 weeks you should have some bacteria on the media you can just place in you sump to seed the bioballs or whatever media is there.
__________________
"Talk does not cook rice" - old Chinese proverb
(I think it means stop talking and start doing)
Idealconcepts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 11:03 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
asudavew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 365
Thanks Ideal!

I appreciate the help.

I went to Lowes and HD over the weekend. Every type of silicon they had in stock was not safe for aquariums...said so on the tube. ugh!

But I will check out monster fish and Dr Fosters.


Thanks again

Dave
__________________
asudavew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 01:13 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Moved
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by asudavew View Post
Thanks Ideal!

I appreciate the help.

I went to Lowes and HD over the weekend. Every type of silicon they had in stock was not safe for aquariums...said so on the tube. ugh!

But I will check out monster fish and Dr Fosters.


Thanks again

Dave
Good luck and keep us posted.
__________________
"Talk does not cook rice" - old Chinese proverb
(I think it means stop talking and start doing)
Idealconcepts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 02:54 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
asudavew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idealconcepts View Post
Good luck and keep us posted.
I sure will.

Stuck on other projects right now.... washer leak.. tear out floor... lay tile...

ugh so much for the fun of my new aquarium! But at least my Oscar is still little and living it up in his 55! Along with his his friends.
__________________
asudavew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 10:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
William Banik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 12
Silicone I have used in the past is CLR. I resealed an entire 75 with one tube with 1/2 a tube left. You should be able to seal an entire 125 with 1 tube.

Best regards,

William
__________________
William Banik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 11:03 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
asudavew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Banik View Post
Silicone I have used in the past is CLR. I resealed an entire 75 with one tube with 1/2 a tube left. You should be able to seal an entire 125 with 1 tube.

Best regards,

William
Thanks William!

I sure wish I could find something locally, but it looks like I will have to order online.
__________________

__________________
asudavew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
125 gallon, 25 gallon, 5 gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
125 gallon fishfirst Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 03-10-2005 03:11 PM
New 125 gallon, what to do? dang Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 14 11-29-2004 05:43 PM
New 125 Gallon! rhetor Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 10-24-2004 03:39 PM
125 gallon xander Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 12-23-2003 12:23 PM
Why a 125 gallon? reefobsessed Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 11-15-2003 08:31 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.