Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-03-2013, 02:47 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 15
AC 70 too much for 20g tall?

I have a new 20g tall that is just getting started. I ended up with a AC 70 as the store didn't have a smaller one and now I am thinking it is overkill. This thing moves a tremendous about of water even on its lowest setting. Super strong suction (even covered with debris from fresh planting) and heavy top current.

What do you fine folks think? Anything I can or should do with this? or take it back and get a different pump in a smaller variety?

Thanks for reading.

Cheers,

Whiskey
__________________

__________________
Whiskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 03:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
I personally would take it back if its to much. I usually buy over but not that much. I probably would have only went at most one rated for a 45
__________________

__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 03:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 15
I've also been advised to put foam or panty hose around the power head to keep things safe. I think I will give it a shot, and see how it does. If still looks to be too much, I will see if they will take it back.
__________________
Whiskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 03:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiskey View Post
I've also been advised to put foam or panty hose around the power head to keep things safe. I think I will give it a shot, and see how it does. If still looks to be too much, I will see if they will take it back.
I don't think that's going to slow it down enough. I thought about telling you to do that but ^^ ya
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 04:21 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
Install an impeller for a 50 or a 30 (they use the same motor).It will reduce flow while maintaining the large foam, and should you get a bigger tank, you can move the filter over and reinstall the 70 impeller.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 04:45 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillD View Post
Install an impeller for a 50 or a 30 (they use the same motor).It will reduce flow while maintaining the large foam, and should you get a bigger tank, you can move the filter over and reinstall the 70 impeller.
Where would I source an impeller from? Looks like it just pulls straight out the top is this correct?
__________________
Whiskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 05:31 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
Should be able to get an impeller from the same place you bought the filter. It does pull straight out.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 05:35 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Andyg23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 82
Putting more media in your filter and placing a sponge around the intake will slow it down some.
__________________
Andyg23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 15
i have already removed the carbon and put a second sponge in its place.. haven't yet put anything on the intake. Tank is empty as we are currently trying come up with a better arrangement after working the mess out of the substrate.
__________________
Whiskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:11 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Slade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Leland, NC
Posts: 527
I have an AC70 in my 20 gallon that I use as a grow out tank for my yellow labs. I've tried using panty hose over the intake and it clogs up way too fast. Foam may work better. I over filter all my tanks but don't think this is overkill. The impeller from an AC50 is a good idea to slow flow.
__________________

__________________
Slade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
20 gallon, tall

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.