Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-01-2011, 01:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
nextgeneration40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 125
ac filters self prime if power goes out?

Hypothetically, if im at work and the power goes out for a while and comes back on does an aqua clear filter self prime and run or sit there and run dry till the motor burns?
__________________

__________________
26G BF, fish-in cycling,(Aqueon 30)(Soon to be AC70) 3 GloFish, 2 Peppered Corys
90G,fishless cycle, (AquaClear 110 & Aqueon 75) (my MTS flared)
Both Tanks: Prime,API Kits,Not Planted
Don't remember the question, the answer is large PWC's, Prime, and OVERfiltering...
nextgeneration40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 02:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
The AC filters only lose their prime if you drain the tank below the filter end of the intake tube. Otherwise they maintain siphon and stay primed.
__________________

__________________
A man's errors are his portals of discovery.
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 02:59 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
Typically they do. I ran into one instance when the power went out for a few minutes and then came back on. It lost its prime somehow and was running dry when I get home from work. That same filter has been working for years though and that is the only time it has ever happened.
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 08:43 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Retired_AF's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 738
I have 2 aquaclear hob's. If I lose power, my aquaclear 20 will not run until I pour water into it. The 50 starts right up and works fine. I have had this happen several times and the results are always the same. Fortunately, the 20 hasnt gotten damaged although it did get pretty hot once.

My Fluval 305 canister has no issues at all , one of the big advantages (IMHO).
__________________
Jim
Why do I love fish? Because every time I stare into the little world I have created for them, every problem I have just floats away....
Retired_AF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,286
My ac 30 lost power and started right back up. My tetra pf 10 (peice of junk) is self priming so it didn't matter.
maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 09:19 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
steez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 784
AQ30 has only not self-primed once.
__________________
125g Cichlid tank
steez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 07:08 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
my ac 70 and both 50's are good. only loose siphon during my water changes.

several simulated power outs.
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 01:53 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
bengoshi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 111
To my recollection, my AC 50 always has had to be primed after unplugging / power failure.
__________________
10g FW: 1 Dwarf Puffer
46g FW: 3 Oranda Goldfish
10g FW: 3 cherry barbs, 6 Red-Eye Tetra, 1 Glo-Fish
bengoshi2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 05:51 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by bengoshi2000
To my recollection, my AC 50 always has had to be primed after unplugging / power failure.
I think I know why this happens... its kind of hard to explain. I will post pictures and explain in another post
maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 01:42 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,286
Alright, I finally drew a diagram...

The filter is running normally.
Attachment 61020


Power failure. Filter stops. Intake tubes empties and creates a siphon (explained in diagram 3)
Attachment 61021


Water is siphoned into the little hole that the intake tube slides onto to adjust flow. It goes up through the intake tube back to the tank.
Attachment 61022

My possible solution: seal that little hole if you never need/want to adjust flow.
I will try this soon and let you know how it works out.
__________________

maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, filters, prime, rim

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back-up filters weagle117 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 10-25-2011 01:30 PM
How long does prime effect water testing ashleynicole Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 09-19-2011 11:31 PM
Hob filters Tigroscr Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-18-2011 12:20 AM
fluval filters user404 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-22-2011 08:53 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.