Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-18-2016, 02:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 39
Adding new filter to current filter and tank

Hello all, my Aquatech filter has been giving me grief, and I bought a new one to replace it . It's a good 10 yrs old, it lived a good life. I bought the same model and size "50" for a 40 gal established tank with angels in it.

LFS lady recommended running both filters for awhile. I have the old one going full steam, the new one on a lower flow. I have no issue leaving the old one up there for awhile while the new filter settles in and grows the good stuff.

Thoughts? Am I overpowering my angels with the flow?

Any suggestions welcome.
__________________

__________________
dora'sfishtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 07:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by dora'sfishtank View Post
Hello all, my Aquatech filter has been giving me grief, and I bought a new one to replace it . It's a good 10 yrs old, it lived a good life. I bought the same model and size "50" for a 40 gal established tank with angels in it.



LFS lady recommended running both filters for awhile. I have the old one going full steam, the new one on a lower flow. I have no issue leaving the old one up there for awhile while the new filter settles in and grows the good stuff.



Thoughts? Am I overpowering my angels with the flow?



Any suggestions welcome.

Shouldn't be an issue for the Angels as long as there is a dead spot for them if they do need a rest from the current.

If the media from your old filter is still in good condition, why don't you just move the media over to the new filter and keep the new media for when you need to replace them?
__________________

__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 07:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 39
I will take a closer look and see if that can work, there is a tiny size difference but we should be close. Thank you!
__________________
dora'sfishtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
current, filter, new filter, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adding to current stock newbietofishes Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 09-15-2013 07:10 AM
To current or not to current!:) Discusapisto Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 02-03-2012 06:37 PM
Adding fish - What options do I have with my current lineup? fishguy3 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 03-15-2010 04:28 PM
Current Nova vs Current Satellite ScottS Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 10-22-2009 12:46 PM
Introduction of new tank to my current stock and upcoming? kaz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 03-15-2006 07:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.