Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-27-2011, 10:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
XxVooDooxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carson City Nevada
Posts: 829
adequate lighting?

ok I have a 46 GAL bow front tank that Is my new reef tank. I have two 18 inch T8 15 watt Actinic Bluelight bulbs. Is this enough for this tank? at least for now?
__________________

__________________
XxVooDooxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:27 PM   #2
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
I would say for now, without anything in there, yes. But once you begin stocking up corals, no. Definitely would not be enough. You might get away with some softies, not even all of them. It's just not enough light, and T8 bulbs are nothing compared to T5's or VHO's. Not to mention that it's only an 18" fixture. If you had a larger one that covered more of the tank then maybe you could do softies.
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
XxVooDooxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carson City Nevada
Posts: 829
Well the bulbs are End to end so it does light up the whole tank. It seems so bright I just thought more light would not be required.
__________________
XxVooDooxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:38 PM   #4
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Oh yeah i didn't see the part where you said *two* fixtures. Well, in that case, maybe. You might be able to keep some softies. Still though, they are almost equivalent to Normal Output fixtures, especially without well crafted reflectors. I wouldn't count of keeping much with those lights.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
XxVooDooxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carson City Nevada
Posts: 829
ok well right now Im just trying to get it started, I have 1 clown, an emerald crab for clean up, a feather duster and a seabea anemone. Not sure if that spelling is correct but you get the idea Im really trying to go as slow as possible with this tank!
__________________
XxVooDooxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:44 PM   #6
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
That sebae anemone won't be living for much longer under those lights. They need very intense lights to stay alive, even if you feed them. Not to mention that sebaes are not hardy anemones, at all. No anemone is really hardy, but some are more than others, and that is not one of them.

Just a quick question... but.. is this tank cycled?
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:51 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
XxVooDooxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carson City Nevada
Posts: 829
ha! Partially, I was directed in the complete opposite direction of where I should have started. In my earlier posts I mentioned what I had in my tank. I got them from my LFS and she (the owner) had told my wife and I that a mandarin goby was a "great starter fish!" after doing my research i found that this is not true at all. So I took it back before she starved to death and all I could get was store credit. With my store credit I got the anemone paired with the clown. I asked so many questions on this site and found that this was not a good purchase on my part but the LFS said "OHHHH no you will be fine! they will thrive in your new tank!" I found a new LFS in Reno that is much more helpful and know what they are talking about. They are not just in it for the quick sale. Im not really sure where to go from here. My tank have 100s of microscopic copepods in it and the anemone has only been in for 24 hours....what do I do?!?
__________________
XxVooDooxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:56 PM   #8
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Well, your only options are to get stronger lights, as soon as you can, return the anemone to the fish store before it dies, and then nukes your entire tank, or just keep it and see how it fairs out, which more than likely will not be good. Especially since the tank is not cycled. Water fluctuations will be prevalent, and anemones absolutely hate unstable water conditions. Sorry to say..

I think the first signs you should be looking for are the anemone constantly moving around, deflating, and then trying to hide under rocks. Although, it will most likely be moving around constantly, and trying to get as close as it can to your lights.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 11:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
XxVooDooxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carson City Nevada
Posts: 829
Yesterday it was moving alot but today it's been quite stationary. It's not inflating or deflating it's just kinda hanging out flowing in the current.
__________________
XxVooDooxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 11:13 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
XxVooDooxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carson City Nevada
Posts: 829
Ok sorry my house is dark and the blue light is not working well with the camera on my phone....but, you can kinda make it out. It's on the sand kinda folded over on it self. The clown won't leave it's side!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1311039443.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	36.0 KB
ID:	29629  
__________________

__________________
XxVooDooxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, lighting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this adequate lighting and proper set up? Dr. Dai Phan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 05-04-2009 10:55 AM
Is my lighting adequate? jbowles General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 09-12-2008 07:01 PM
Adequate lighting? evercl92 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 09-13-2007 01:35 PM
Filtration Adequate Or Not. noteworthy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 08-21-2005 10:15 PM
So where do you get adequate lighting? TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 17 03-31-2005 12:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.