Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-24-2013, 12:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 150
Advice for powerhead...

I have a 15 gallon saltwater tank but the current flow on it it's not sufficient so i need to get a power head but what power for that size can circulate the water without too much flow give some good power head to buy and how much power do i need 1?
__________________

__________________
ch-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 02:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Ljfdfireboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 148
What do you have running in the corner? Looks like it has enough power to move the sand out of the front corner of the tank. If you keep the pump where it is. Aim the output up a little and more toward the front middle of the tank and a little more up you should be good. You should also get that surface agitation too that you need. Or if you wanted to ad a additional pump I don't think needed after seeing the whole tank. I would add a Hydor nano 240 for $25 on the opposite side. I would try re aiming your existing one first.
__________________

__________________
120 Mixed Reef Tank.
20g Fresh.
Ljfdfireboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 02:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 150
man i don't want that pump anymore it's useless i tried to aiming it but nothing :l it's still not giving me the right flow so i need for now that nano 240 it should sufficient? should i get anything else or just the the powerhead?
__________________
ch-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 02:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Ljfdfireboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 148
I would start there with the power head. I have the hydor 240 in my sump and it should work well in your tank it has a nice wide flow pattern. I'd place in a similar location as your existing pump. just a little higher and on the left side wall toward the back. Amazon has them $24.80 free shipping. Other than that you should be good to go when your tank cycles the rock will filter everything else. Looks good. Looks like you have enough light to do some soft corals down the road if you wanted to also and a good rock layout to let them grow.
__________________
120 Mixed Reef Tank.
20g Fresh.
Ljfdfireboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 02:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 150
man i don't think i can grow corals my light is 15 wat :l and how do i know if the cycle started?
__________________
ch-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 03:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Ljfdfireboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 148
Testing your ammonia, Nitrites, and Nitrates, You need something in the tank that will start the cycle. Piece of raw shrimp some people have used gets a little smelly after a while. When I upgraded I used Dr Tims Ammonia chloride no smell and worked well there are instructions on the website. Here is a good link Fishless Cycling - How to Start - A detailed guide from DrTim's Aquatics. Basically when testing your ammonia, Nitrites, and Nitrates. you will see ammonia go up then start to come down then nitrites will go up then start down and nitrated will start going up and nitrites will be zero. time to do water change and start adding fish slowly keeping eye on parameters. Big thing take it slow and you will be rewarded. Good article worth a read. My first tank I got some realy good live rock and never say any ammonia or nitrite levels basically a instant cycle but I still waited 4 weeks anyway. Nitrates in that tank were always 0ppm
__________________
120 Mixed Reef Tank.
20g Fresh.
Ljfdfireboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 03:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Ljfdfireboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 148
Yup 15watts won't do it. Looked brighter in the pic.
__________________
120 Mixed Reef Tank.
20g Fresh.
Ljfdfireboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 03:29 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 150
if i don't want any corals this light is good for current live rocks?
__________________
ch-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 03:46 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Ljfdfireboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 148
You will be fine the amount of light really is not that important if you are not growing coral. The live bacteria in the rocks will populate and grow under pretty much any light. I've seen fish only tanks doing fine with just the light from the room. Doesn't look as nice though.
__________________
120 Mixed Reef Tank.
20g Fresh.
Ljfdfireboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 03:50 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 150
Man thank you very much u are so helpfull i was so worried that my light isnt good for my live rock anyway can i get 425 gph power head? It will work great or not in my 15 galloon tank?
__________________

__________________
ch-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, powerhead

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.