Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-14-2003, 06:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Send a message via MSN to wabyrd
Air pump size...

I have a question about air pump size. I have a 50 gallon freshwater with some bubble bars in the bottom. There are two 14" and a 7 inch (35 inches total). The water depth is about 17 inches deep. I had two air pumps laying around, so it wasn't a big deal to hook them up, but both of the pumps are too weak to aerate the whole bubble bar string. The bars are all connected together end to end. I tried a Profile 1000, and then tried the Profile 1500 to see if it would aerate the whole bubble bar, but it doesn't do the job either. How much air pump do I need to get air out of the whole thing? These are the "stone" bubble bars, so I don't want to push so much air that they explode (if that's possible).
__________________

__________________
wabyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2003, 10:29 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Send a message via MSN to wabyrd
Update

I got a Profile 2900 and used a t-piece to hook it in with my Profile 1500. It's a little better. I'm going to get another t-piece and add in my Profile 1000 and see if that fixes the problem.

Bill
__________________

__________________
wabyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2003, 11:24 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
It's going to take a lot of pump to run all that. You might want to look into one of the "deep water" pumps. The Luft pump is a good one. If noise isn't an issue, you may be able to use a piston type pump instead of the diaphram type. They are more costly, louder, and use more power, but they will blow a golf ball through a garden hose . I think Tetra (?) makes a line of deep water pumps that you might want to look at.
Logan J
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2003, 02:27 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Send a message via MSN to wabyrd
Noise is an issue. I like to be able to sleep at night. Is Tetra the quietest around?
Since my airstones are inline, is it OK to use a T-piece to hook up both outlets together on the pumps that have dual outlets so that I only have the one air hose going into the tank? Or should I put different airstones on different pumps?
__________________
wabyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2003, 06:59 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I don't know how quiet the Tetra pumps are...never used one. I just know they have a line of deep water pumps that are supposed to handle back pressure better than the other pumps.
You can hook the pumps up any way you want as long as you don't put too much on the single air line. You will only be able to push a certain amount of air through it with the diaphram type pumps...maybe not enough to run all those air stones. It's one of those things you'll just have to experiment with. It's going to be hard on the pumps so you might see if you can get new diaphrams for whatever pump you end up using.
Logan J
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2003, 06:52 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 441
Send a message via MSN to Chrismac
You can always put your pump on top of some type of cloth to stop the viberation against its surface.
just make sure its dry.

Chris.
__________________

__________________
~¿ô
Chris
Chrismac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air, air pump, pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
air pump LordErrorprone Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 08-13-2009 03:10 PM
will trade platies for air pump and air stone fishfreak5 Archive 9 03-27-2009 08:35 PM
Air pump size?? warped1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 04-11-2008 11:11 PM
Size of PVC piping in relation to size of pump connections chase33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 02-19-2007 05:17 AM
What size Air Pump and Powerhead? newsalt DIY Projects 1 12-30-2003 09:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.