Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-19-2009, 01:22 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
follicle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 94
Air pump with two outputs...

I just bought a 3060 gallon Tetra air pump. I'm using it to setup up one air stone, however, there are two outputs. The problem is that air keeps coming out of the second output. Should I do something to plug this other output so the pump doesn't burn up?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
follicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 02:14 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
its fine. you could always add a sponge filter with the extra output. great to move over for qt.
__________________

__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 09:44 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
^^^ awesome idea, I had this same issue on what to do with the extra air line.


what size is air tubing for air pumps? 5/32?
__________________
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 02:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
follicle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 94
Actually, I just found out that it comes with a T-valve, allowing me to connect a small 2.5" long piece of air tubing to each output, which is then in turn connected to the T-valve, which then has one tube running from the T-valve to the airstone.

Thanks for your replies, though! I may just look into that sponge filter.
__________________
follicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 04:38 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteDevil View Post
^^^ awesome idea, I had this same issue on what to do with the extra air line.

what size is air tubing for air pumps? 5/32?
yea i dont run air pumps other then to power sponge filters. really there is no other use for them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by follicle View Post
Actually, I just found out that it comes with a T-valve, allowing me to connect a small 2.5" long piece of air tubing to each output, which is then in turn connected to the T-valve, which then has one tube running from the T-valve to the airstone.

Thanks for your replies, though! I may just look into that sponge filter.
that works though its meant to shoot from 2 holes. restricting the air flow that much may not be too good for it.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air, air pump, pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will trade platies for air pump and air stone fishfreak5 Archive 9 03-27-2009 08:35 PM
Air pump , do i really need it ? Chipie Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 17 12-18-2006 12:27 PM
Air getting into pump, don't know how FearTheDentist General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-19-2006 05:42 PM
Air Pump: Yes or No?? Swank Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 04-12-2004 05:10 PM
Air Pump Necessary? craig10 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-26-2002 11:08 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.