Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-23-2014, 07:55 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SFAquariums1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 229
I'm thinking that you just don't have a strong enough pump, to pump air 8 feet to top of tank. That's why flow may be restricted


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
SFAquariums1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 02:16 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
IvanGAndrade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 28
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1420308945.058214.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	175.6 KB
ID:	259851

Any help on this I just got it today



Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
IvanGAndrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 07:29 PM   #13
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 13,552
As it is new I assume the air stone hasn't clogged up.

So I'd say you don't have enough air pressure for air to make it to the end of the air stone and out.

There is just enough air pressure to force air out of the first section of the air stone.

On mine I'd recheck there are no kinks in the hose just in case.
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 07:30 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
IvanGAndrade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delapool View Post
As it is new I assume the air stone hasn't clogged up.

So I'd say you don't have enough air pressure for air to make it to the end of the air stone and out.

There is just enough air pressure to force air out of the first section of the air stone.

On mine I'd recheck there are no kinks in the hose just in case.

There r no kinks and it's a 40 gal pump in a 20 gal tank


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
IvanGAndrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 07:40 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fish wrangler's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NE Illinois
Posts: 4,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by IvanGAndrade View Post
There r no kinks and it's a 40 gal pump in a 20 gal tank


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
The pump isn't strong enough. I had a 60 gallon pump and still couldn't get bubbles down the entire bubble wand

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
3 tanks
a 29 gallon high tech planted Chasing Red, a 20 long low tech, and a 75 gallon salty adventure
fish wrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 07:41 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
IvanGAndrade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by fish wrangler View Post
The pump isn't strong enough. I had a 60 gallon pump and still couldn't get bubbles down the entire bubble wand

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Wow lol I guess I'm fine for the moment I poked holes in it and it's working better then before


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
IvanGAndrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 08:01 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SFAquariums1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 229
Doesn't matter what the pumps rated for. Depends also on how far the air travels from the pump to the top of your tank, as well as how long your bubble wand is


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
SFAquariums1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 08:07 PM   #18
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 13,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by IvanGAndrade View Post
Wow lol I guess I'm fine for the moment I poked holes in it and it's working better then before


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

Makes sense - larger holes, easier for the air to get out.

If you have excess air line tubing, you could try shortening it. Like a garden hose, air pressure will decrease the longer the air line is. Just in case you had a few metres sitting coiled up.
__________________

__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air, air stone, stone

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air pump and air stone ClearVision94 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 12-20-2013 08:41 PM
Help! Air Pump or Air Stone? Cneracker Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 08-13-2013 08:43 PM
filter sucking up air from the air stone The Duke 8705 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 03-14-2012 02:11 PM
will trade platies for air pump and air stone fishfreak5 Archive 9 03-27-2009 08:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.