Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-22-2012, 12:36 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 39
Ok thank you for all your help. I really do appreciate it.
__________________

__________________
mikea213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:37 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikea213
Ok thank you for all your help. I really do appreciate it.
Np glad to help
__________________

__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 12:31 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 39
Ok so I tried a slow drip rate and now the alk is dropping more I have tried increasing the co2. It went from 3meq the other day of the posting to 2.5 yesterday now its 2meq. What should I do should I turn up the eff and the co2? Does more eff needed to hold the tanks demands with just more co2? My controller shuts off the co2 at 8.4 and on at 6.6. Should the co2 be cycling on and off or should it be running all the time but just enough to hold the ph?
__________________
mikea213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 12:53 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikea213
Ok so I tried a slow drip rate and now the alk is dropping more I have tried increasing the co2. It went from 3meq the other day of the posting to 2.5 yesterday now its 2meq. What should I do should I turn up the eff and the co2? Does more eff needed to hold the tanks demands with just more co2? My controller shuts off the co2 at 8.4 and on at 6.6. Should the co2 be cycling on and off or should it be running all the time but just enough to hold the ph?
Is there a pump on your reactor circulating the water within the reactor?
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 12:54 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikea213
Ok so I tried a slow drip rate and now the alk is dropping more I have tried increasing the co2. It went from 3meq the other day of the posting to 2.5 yesterday now its 2meq. What should I do should I turn up the eff and the co2? Does more eff needed to hold the tanks demands with just more co2? My controller shuts off the co2 at 8.4 and on at 6.6. Should the co2 be cycling on and off or should it be running all the time but just enough to hold the ph?
How many bubbles per second is your co2?
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 01:20 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 39
One per sec. Should the co2 always be on? Or should it be turning on and off 3 times hr
__________________
mikea213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 01:35 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 39
There is a pump on the reactor. I have the vertex Rx6 duo. Do you have a check valve between your bubble counter and the solenoid? Wondering if that's part of my problem I have the brass one. Wonder if I can just use any airline one if that's causing a issue.
__________________
mikea213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 09:06 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikea213
There is a pump on the reactor. I have the vertex Rx6 duo. Do you have a check valve between your bubble counter and the solenoid? Wondering if that's part of my problem I have the brass one. Wonder if I can just use any airline one if that's causing a issue.
Ok adjust co2 down a tad mines at 1bubble every 3 seconds then up the drip rate to much co2 thats prolly why it keeps turning off i run mine constantly my drip is 1/sec also if you can drip into skimmer compartment of sump the skimmer helps get co2 out of the water so it dont lower your ph in tank
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 09:07 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikea213
There is a pump on the reactor. I have the vertex Rx6 duo. Do you have a check valve between your bubble counter and the solenoid? Wondering if that's part of my problem I have the brass one. Wonder if I can just use any airline one if that's causing a issue.
Takes awhile to dial it in but once you do its lovely
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 02:50 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 39
ok let me try that. Does your system have a check valve on the co2? Should there always be bubbles and the controller is just there in case it pulls to low? Sorry for all the questions
__________________

__________________
mikea213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.