Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-21-2012, 12:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 39
alk issue with reactor

So my tank has been having a issue keep the alk high its at 2.5 mlq and cal around 400 and mag 1250. Have a mixed of spa and los. I'm running a reactor and its saying the ph inside if 6.4 - 6.5 with kind a fast just above being able to count. The eff coming out of the reactor is 4mlq which seems low. Should I up the co2 or lower the ph on the controller a little to raise the eff up? The media in the reactor is course arm doesn't seem to be turning into mud yet.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
mikea213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 06:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikea213
So my tank has been having a issue keep the alk high its at 2.5 mlq and cal around 400 and mag 1250. Have a mixed of spa and los. I'm running a reactor and its saying the ph inside if 6.4 - 6.5 with kind a fast just above being able to count. The eff coming out of the reactor is 4mlq which seems low. Should I up the co2 or lower the ph on the controller a little to raise the eff up? The media in the reactor is course arm doesn't seem to be turning into mud yet.

Thanks
Hows the drip coming from reactor?
__________________

__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 39
It's just fast enough it doesn't clog up but not full stream u can see the drops but hard to count.
__________________
mikea213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikea213
It's just fast enough it doesn't clog up but not full stream u can see the drops but hard to count.
Slow drip down this will allow co2 to breakdown the media better
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 11:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 39
Is a slow rate enough to hold the tanks demands? I go it to a drip a sec should I raise the ph in the reactor ? Or is 6.5 ok for the arm media ?
__________________
mikea213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 11:44 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikea213
Is a slow rate enough to hold the tanks demands? I go it to a drip a sec should I raise the ph in the reactor ? Or is 6.5 ok for the arm media ?
Yes leave at 6.5 with a slower drip the alk can get higher coming out of the reactor i also have mine about 60drips/minute so check alk daily at same time each day if alk is maintaining leave it if alk goes down add co2 not much just very lil until alk maintains
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 11:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 39
Ok thanks for the help. If alk starts to go up do I raise the ph then or the flow ?
__________________
mikea213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:03 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikea213
Ok thanks for the help. If alk starts to go up do I raise the ph then or the flow ?
Ph has to stay at 6.5 to break down the media so if alk starts to rise then lower the co2 if alk lowers raise co2 but keep in mind very small adjustments or youll just be goin back and forth and checking same time each day is important to give correct readings
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:12 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 39
Ok gottcha I just check I'm a 3 meq now 8.4 dkh I want to be up in the 9 to 10 dkh in the tank correct? I did add some alk last night to the tank to bump me up .5 meq so should I do it again or see if the reactor will hold it at 3 meq
__________________
mikea213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:19 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikea213
Ok gottcha I just check I'm a 3 meq now 8.4 dkh I want to be up in the 9 to 10 dkh in the tank correct? I did add some alk last night to the tank to bump me up .5 meq so should I do it again or see if the reactor will hold it at 3 meq
Ok heres what to do get reactor stabalized in the way i meantion before once stabalized then add alk to desired level using the alk supplement also once reactor is stabalized use calcium supp to get calcium to desired level then let reactor hold those parameters for you took me about 2 weeks to get dialed in but now i dont even touch it i personally keep my calcium at 420 and alk at 12 dkh my coral seem to like the higher alk and show better color and polyp extension at this level so you may need to experiment with your coral to see what is best for you
__________________

__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.