Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-15-2005, 09:16 PM   #31
AA Team Emeritus
 
czcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,821
Nevermind about standpipe being T-design. Picture from krap101's most recent post won't keep siphon if return pump loses power. It appears it has to be started somehow. Here's Durso standpipe: http://www.dursostandpipes.com/
__________________

__________________
"2- before attempting to plant, have a beer or a Bourbon. That will help to steady your handsÖ" -- elwaine

wet.biggiantnerds.com
czcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 09:22 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
he said he takes the end cap off the top and adds water. that starts the siphon

ill probally do the other one then. lol this one seems to complicated.

since the tube is siphoning water out what stops water from comingout of the hole?
__________________

__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 09:24 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
The picture I posted is of one that keeps syphon...
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 09:29 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Oh and getting a durso out of the tank.. ie without having a hole to plumb into is complicated.... Ive looked into it... not that its impossible it would be a challange though..
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 09:57 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
ill probally do the tube one. i just wanted to know my options.
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 10:07 PM   #36
AA Team Emeritus
 
czcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,821
Krap - the water level in the tank will never be higher than the water level of the hole.

You could add the Durso to the back end of your overflow box if you went that route. This keeps it quiet. If you do self levelling siphon green, please post how noise is. Its very clever.
__________________
"2- before attempting to plant, have a beer or a Bourbon. That will help to steady your handsÖ" -- elwaine

wet.biggiantnerds.com
czcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 10:16 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
well.. im trying to get around getting the overflow box right now
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 11:55 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
I would do this if I was going to do a emergeny overflow.. ie. just in case a water change gets out of hand..LOL.
or a automated waterchange system..
I would do a sump if I was going for a fish only tank though.. you know the wet/dry CO2 problem.. Ill probably be injecting CO2 in the big tank.. I know I could add water to the system and hide some heaters and such but its a little too much work for the added benefit..
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 12:11 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
well.. my tanks wont be that densely planted.

what do you mean by an emergency overflow?
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 12:58 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
An emergency overflow would go to a drain.. in my case the drain to the washing machine is on the other side of the wall.. I would put a overflow that would drain the water off to the drain incase the water level gets close to overflowing the tank..
I dont know if this is a normal idea but I overthink things sometimes..LOL
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Talk about Irony bound_for_obx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 10-01-2006 03:07 PM
Talk about misleading! PlatyLady Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 32 12-11-2003 10:56 PM
more goby talk... klg1824 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 05-31-2003 05:53 PM
What's all this talk of ... ?? Grant R Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-12-2002 11:44 PM
What is all this talk about a SUMP? fishfreek Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 05-22-2002 08:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.