Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-14-2009, 01:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
NatalieFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
Ammonia Kit

Hello! Nataliefish here, i've been told that ill be needing an ammonia kit and some water conditioner. my first question is what does an ammonia kit consist of? and also if i leave the water out in a container without its top of course for 24-48 hours do i need to use water conditioner? Thank you very much. I am still working at putting my fish tank back together after the massive cleaning. im trying to get the guts to put in the water heater ( i have a fear that ill electrocute the fish ). I want to make sure i know all the tricks, and anything else i may not know!

thank you very much. hopefully after all this advice i've been getting, i can help new people

thanks again!
__________________

__________________
NatalieFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 02:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
first off, it would be in your best interest to get master test kit. one that will test ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and ph. second, leaving the water out is debatable... depends on who you ask. chlorine will evaporate, but if there is any chloramine in the water, its a little harder to get rid of without conditioner. Third, what do you mean by "guts" of your heater?
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 02:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishmonkey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,207
okay so, a master test kit would have a ammonia test kit in it along wioth other ones. just go pick up a master test kit at petsmart or petco.
__________________
fishmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 04:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
NatalieFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
re:

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516 View Post
first off, it would be in your best interest to get master test kit. one that will test ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and ph. second, leaving the water out is debatable... depends on who you ask. chlorine will evaporate, but if there is any chloramine in the water, its a little harder to get rid of without conditioner. Third, what do you mean by "guts" of your heater?
Thank you. I've heard of the master test kit through the chat here. what i meant by "guts" is well, bringing myself to do it, with the fear of electrocuting my fish. getting the guts to put in the water heater.. i have it in right now. and im waiting before i plug it in.

Thanks again!
__________________
NatalieFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 04:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
NatalieFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
re:

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmonkey View Post
okay so, a master test kit would have a ammonia test kit in it along wioth other ones. just go pick up a master test kit at petsmart or petco.
petsmart or pecto. ill remember t hat. thanks and thanks again!
__________________
NatalieFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 04:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishmonkey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,207
any time
__________________
fishmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
thanks for clearing that up lol... i understood it that you had removed the "guts" from the heater and were going to put them back in... i understand now lol
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 06:10 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Make sure it's the liquid test kit and not the dip strips, the strips are not very accurate.
__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 10:56 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishEggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 2,211
do they have petsmart or petco in canada?
you can also use BigAlsonline.com they are decently priced.
here is what you should get if you don't already have any test kits.
__________________
~Matt~
If you put off what you can do today until tomorrow it will never get done cause tomorrow never comes. It's always today.
FishEggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 11:37 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JPKeenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 657
Quote:
Originally Posted by NatalieFish View Post
petsmart or pecto. ill remember t hat. thanks and thanks again!
sometimes through the on-line sites you can get them a few bucks cheaper, but that might not apply for the shipping to Canada. Forgot Big Al's has a Great White North Site http://www.bigalsonline.ca/BigAlsCA/...rmastertestkit The link is a that kit that most of us use here.

Not trying to plug Big Al's but they and other mail order sites mentioned here usually have things a few bucks cheaper than a retail store.
__________________

__________________
JPKeenan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phosphate test kit dark blue...range higher than max on kit MyCatsDrool Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 02-13-2007 08:20 AM
added lots of ammonia, but test kit shows very little europas_ice Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 04-09-2006 10:50 PM
I got an ammonia test kit and here are my results!!!! Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-08-2006 11:14 PM
cycling questions- ammonia kit petunia100 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 12-12-2004 02:13 AM
Lost my test kit index card (ammonia) help ?? kidkameleon3 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 03-11-2004 10:20 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.