Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-09-2013, 09:19 PM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
An AquaClear 110 Media Layering Query...

Is it okay for me to layer the sponge block first, then the two small sacks of BioMax pellets on top of the sponge, in my AquaClear 110's media basket? Normally, I'll run two bags of Seachem Purigen on top of the sponge, as well, before the sacks of BioMax, but I did not purchase any yet...Is this layering procedure correct?

Oh, also -- since I recently set up a new 60 gallon for my fancy goldfish, and this tank is very HIGH in terms of its volume distribution, the intake stem on the 110 is kind of short under the surface of the water, whereas I was able to attach an extension tube to the other HOB I'm running on the tank, an Aqueon QuietFlow 55, so that reaches in deeper to the bottom near the substrate...is it okay that my AquaClear's intake tube is kind of on the short side under the water? I didn't have an extension tube for it...

Does this matter?
__________________

__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:01 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Slade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Leland, NC
Posts: 527
That media layering is fine. I use sponge on bottom, blue-bonded pad and pellets on top. One of the benefits of the AC110 is that you can switch media around compared to other HOBs. The tube length shouldn't matter that much
__________________

__________________
Slade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:37 PM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slade View Post
That media layering is fine. I use sponge on bottom, blue-bonded pad and pellets on top. One of the benefits of the AC110 is that you can switch media around compared to other HOBs. The tube length shouldn't matter that much
Hey, Slade!

Thanks for the reply; it's much appreciated. And thank you for putting my mind at ease about the layering.

As for the tube intake length, it's okay that the AquaClear's intake stem is significantly shorter than that of the other filter running on the tank, an Aqueon QuietFlow 55?
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, clear, media

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.