Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-17-2006, 11:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Viperboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 383
Send a message via AIM to Viperboy
Another Filter Question

Ok so you know how the filter bags with emperor 280s come with carbon in em ... well i was just thinking since the carbon is no good anyways and when i go back home im gonna clean the filter pad anyway ... is there a way to open it up throw out the carbon and put in some bio max or something ? ... would this work or is this stupid and would opening the filter pad ruin it?
TIA

Ray
__________________

__________________
Viperboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 12:33 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
It' just as easy to get a filter media bag from your lfs and add floss or ceramic rings into that. I have opened filters and rinsed out all the carbon and reused them, it's just a pain IMO.
__________________

__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 12:52 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: where the wild things are (NC)
Posts: 396
Send a message via AIM to Thebluyak
yeah ive done it before on my whisper on my 10 gallon, its just easier to shove filter floss down there and leave the sponge if place for the bio filtration. Free too
__________________
Thebluyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 01:59 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
I just have my ceramic rings in my media basket that the Emperor 280 comes with and just use cheap non-Marineland filter pads that I get on Ebay cheap. They do have carbon, but I don't pay any attention to it. I just pretend it's not there, as I'm not medicating the tank. Just another place for bacteria to build up on.
__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filter Question CluelessInNY Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 07-12-2008 03:18 PM
Filter Question KiGrind General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 11-01-2006 12:41 AM
I have a filter question please Bosk General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 04-28-2005 08:09 AM
New QT filter question tmcpeek Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 9 10-12-2004 07:35 PM
Filter Question Kwenbee General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 03-12-2004 12:11 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.