Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-10-2018, 09:33 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Fisher View Post
That will work for low light plants. I have something similar with less LEDs than you on one of my tanks. The time on my timer also resets with a power outage just like all of my digital clocks that are plug in's.
Hey Fisher, what method do you use to determine lighting conditions for "low light" plants vs non-low light plants? I've seen various tables but not sure I've found one that I trust. I assume you'd have to compare in lumens since LEDs and and tube lights have different electro-optical conversion efficiencies.
__________________

__________________
mkm0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 03:28 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,991
I don't keep high light/tech tanks and only moderate to lightly planted low light tanks. Honestly, my gauge was to stick a cheap LED strip under the hood of my tank and see if the low light plants lived or not. Lol. Plus I dose liquid fertilizer.
__________________

__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 05:59 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Fisher View Post
I don't keep high light/tech tanks and only moderate to lightly planted low light tanks. Honestly, my gauge was to stick a cheap LED strip under the hood of my tank and see if the low light plants lived or not. Lol. Plus I dose liquid fertilizer.
It sounds like we have similar tanks as I have low light plants and does Excel. So are you thinking just get some LED strip lights and attach them to the underside of the hood? I have since done some research and see where people wrap strips around PVC pipe and place them in a gutter so it resembles a tube.
__________________
dm76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 07:28 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,991
I would think the LED strips are perfectly fine.
__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 09:37 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 19
Yeah, mine work fine. My plants aren't exploding, but I don't even fertilize... Just occasional root tabs. I would like them to grow faster, but I am probably nutrient/co2 limited.
__________________
mkm0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 10:56 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: mississippi
Posts: 757
Those strip LEDs do work good for small tanks like 10g but they just don't output enough for deeper tanks like your 50g. I say give it a go and see how it works out as long as its not to expensive.
__________________
goatnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2018, 10:17 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,991
I use just two LED strips under the hood of my 29g. I use Thrive liquid fertilizer once a week and dose per instructions. My plants are fine and they put off new growth. No need for C02 in my opinion.
__________________

__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diy, ideas, led, tube

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone have stained test tubes? I have the fix. bevoholic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 28 12-21-2012 06:23 PM
Leds only or leds with t5 or t8s?? Help?? Pick1225 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 1 12-04-2012 06:19 PM
replace old hood or add leds?? chris96m General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 02-29-2012 04:32 PM
to replace or not to replace is the question scuba_steve Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 07-08-2004 09:52 AM
LEDs replace reg flourecent lighting and create moonlight? Electrobes DIY Projects 3 10-30-2003 08:13 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.