Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-08-2018, 03:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 39
Anyone have ideas for some DIY LEDs to replace my tubes?

I have a 50 gallon tank (36" wide) with a stand and hood I built for it. For the last several years, I have installed two 36" fluorescent tubes to underside of the lid running off of a ballast mounted in the back. I want to convert to LED and was wondering if anyone had any ideas of some DIY LED lights I can install the same way. This is a low light planted tank so it has been fine off of the 2 - 25 watt tubes it has been running. I only have 3 inches of clearance between the underside of the hood and the glass at the top of the tank.



__________________

__________________
dm76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 11:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm76 View Post
I have a 50 gallon tank (36" wide) with a stand and hood I built for it. For the last several years, I have installed two 36" fluorescent tubes to underside of the lid running off of a ballast mounted in the back. I want to convert to LED and was wondering if anyone had any ideas of some DIY LED lights I can install the same way. This is a low light planted tank so it has been fine off of the 2 - 25 watt tubes it has been running. I only have 3 inches of clearance between the underside of the hood and the glass at the top of the tank.



I bought these lights: https://www.amazon.com/your-orders/p...ntId=D7yLygt6b
And this timer: https://www.amazon.com/your-orders/p...ntId=DBlzsM1Vy
I put in 8 feet of this roll of lights in my 10 gallon. It outputs 164 lumens per linear foot. I use the timer with low light 20-50% for All but 4-5 hours each day, when I have it at 100%.
It works well for my couple of java ferns.
Disclaimer: I'm still new at aquarium living.
__________________

__________________
mkm0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 04:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 39
Can you post those links again? It looks like those links direct to the orders page. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkm0310 View Post
I bought these lights: https://www.amazon.com/your-orders/p...ntId=D7yLygt6b
And this timer: https://www.amazon.com/your-orders/p...ntId=DBlzsM1Vy
I put in 8 feet of this roll of lights in my 10 gallon. It outputs 164 lumens per linear foot. I use the timer with low light 20-50% for All but 4-5 hours each day, when I have it at 100%.
It works well for my couple of java ferns.
Disclaimer: I'm still new at aquarium living.
__________________
dm76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 04:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm76 View Post
Can you post those links again? It looks like those links direct to the orders page. Thanks.
Sorry about that. Try these.
Lights: https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00CU...op_mb_pd_title

Timer: https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07F8...op_mb_pd_title
__________________
mkm0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 04:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: mississippi
Posts: 714
If you aren't into soldering and all the technical stuff that goes into making an led light then I would recommend just getting a prebuilt light like a finnex planted plus or one of the beamworks lights. If you want to build it then there are several sites that sell complete kits like rapidled.com. here is a how to build a cree led light.
https://www.instructables.com/id/A-C...ED-Light-Unit/
__________________
goatnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 05:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 19
Oh, and this power supply: https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B007M...op_mb_pd_title

Note that you the power supply is at the slightly underrated if you use the whole string led string.

Here are photos:
__________________
mkm0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 05:02 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 19
Here are photos. Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20181209_150137459.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	170.8 KB
ID:	311228Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20181209_150116541.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	156.8 KB
ID:	311229Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20181209_150101760.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	253.1 KB
ID:	311230
__________________
mkm0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 09:08 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 19
I reposted the links but it didn't seem to post... Here they are again. This require soldering some wires to the strips, but I think they even make connectors for these strips that eleminate even that small amount of soldering.
Note that the power supply is slightly under rated if you use all 16.4 feet of lights. I only used 8 or so. It would probably work okay, but the safe thing to do is get a slightly larger power supply.
Timer: https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07F8...op_mb_pd_title
Power supply: https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B007M...op_mb_pd_title
Lights: https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00CU...op_mb_pd_title
__________________
mkm0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 09:10 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 19
The only negative feedback I have about these products is that the timer is very unintuitive to set up and loses it's setting if it loses power. Other than that, this is a great set up for me.
__________________
mkm0310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 10:16 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,644
That will work for low light plants. I have something similar with less LEDs than you on one of my tanks. The time on my timer also resets with a power outage just like all of my digital clocks that are plug in's.
__________________

__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diy, ideas, led, tube

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone have stained test tubes? I have the fix. bevoholic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 28 12-21-2012 06:23 PM
Leds only or leds with t5 or t8s?? Help?? Pick1225 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 1 12-04-2012 06:19 PM
replace old hood or add leds?? chris96m General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 02-29-2012 04:32 PM
to replace or not to replace is the question scuba_steve Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 07-08-2004 09:52 AM
LEDs replace reg flourecent lighting and create moonlight? Electrobes DIY Projects 3 10-30-2003 08:13 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.