Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-21-2005, 09:27 PM   #1
zacdl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Anyone use a Nitrate Reducer?

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...Np=1&N=0&Nty=1


I would like to have one of these, but thats for a 500 gallon aquarium, and it is very costly. Do they make anything smaller, or cheaper?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 10:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Alaska
Posts: 28
I use a Nitrex box and that helps a little in reducing nitrates. Its not that expensive either.
__________________

__________________
Hmm......Develop a simulation of tank tapping eh? That'll teach them!
Tangaloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 10:06 PM   #3
zacdl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Link??
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 02:50 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I used a denitrater for a while and they were Ok . Did work a little. But now I have a refuge and it is doing the job
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 02:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
schoeplein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,213
Seems to be the same thing as a fuge filled with bioballs? The only difference seems to be the chemical additive.... waste of $ IMO
__________________
schoeplein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 02:59 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 03:18 PM   #7
zacdl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I would like a fuge but dont want to drill my tank

Overflow would take up too much room.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nitrate icedone Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 06-28-2009 01:16 AM
nitrate? timwag2001 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 15 03-01-2009 01:34 PM
How much NitrAte is too much? bronxbomber Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 17 02-11-2009 04:59 PM
Nitrate-Nitrogen or Total Nitrate johnkristie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-11-2008 10:06 PM
Nitrate TriggerHappy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 10-21-2003 10:56 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.