Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-15-2005, 03:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
Anyone use or have a RIO Hyperflow pump?

Im just wondering if anyone is using or has heard anything about the RIO Hyperflow pumps? Heres a link on ebay for one that im looking at:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...381813001&rd=1

I have 2 RIO return pumps now but am thinking of doing just one. Anyone use these yet?
__________________

__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 03:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI (any others?)
Posts: 148
Yep, mine works GREAT, I use a 20HP for my tank.
__________________

__________________
maxamillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 03:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
Hmm i have 2 rios that im very happy with when did the HF's come out? I have a 3100 & 2100 on my tank and want to upgrade eventually.
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 06:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI (any others?)
Posts: 148
I have no idea when they came out, but I have had my HF20 (it is suppose to be HF I made a typo above) for about 3-4 months now, it has been great, I have had no problems with it. I find it to be a fairly no-maintenance pump, I have cleaned mine twice, and the second time I only did it because I was working in the sump already.
__________________
maxamillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 07:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 192
Out of curiosity, how large are your systems that it would necessitate a 1,920 GPH pump? That's huge!
__________________
IndyReefMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 08:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI (any others?)
Posts: 148
Mine is a 750 gal display with a 20gal long sump/fuge

And also keep in mind that the water flow is reduced as it has a head height of about 4 feet (not including bends etc.)
__________________
maxamillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 10:34 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to M Rako
I have the Rio 4HF, and I use it as my main power head in my 55 gal. and so far its about the best Ive used so far. When I first got it I thought it might be too much, but I'm starting to believe it may be all I need for my surface aggitation. ( But what do I know I havn't tried to swim inside the tank......yet! :| M Rako
__________________
M Rako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2005, 12:33 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
I just ordered 2 HF 17's for my new 120g. I am going to run them so I don't have to use powerheads in the tank itself. These will be in the new 33g sump I got, so I am glad to hear everyone that purchased them has been successful so far.

Max - 750 gal display? man alive! 8O How about some pictures?

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2005, 02:16 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
Max means a 75gal tank not 750....LOL That would be nice though 750gal! Salttanker, i thought about buying them also for my returns i have a RIO 3100 and 2100 now for my 2 return pumps. I would like to get just 1 pump to do my 125gal tank but i dont think that would be enough. I dont want to have powerheads in my tank either but acro's and montiporas require alot of water movement and it kinda stinks have to put them close to the returns....Although i could use a spraybar i suppose....
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2005, 02:22 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI (any others?)
Posts: 148
LOL, oops! Thanks gooyferret thats what I meant ... it was only a small mistake on my end. lol

Well yes indeed I did mean 75 gal, a pet store owner in town has a 1000gal I have yet to see this beast! But actually in the future I plan on having a 1000 (at least, preferably 2000) live rock growing tank, as well as several coral prop tanks. Keep in mind these wont be glass, nor will they be very pretty. But they will serve their purpose.
__________________

__________________
maxamillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, pump, rio

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rio pump for skimmer Kribensis_2004 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-09-2007 10:03 PM
rio pump mrkho General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 10-20-2005 10:44 AM
Ever use a Rio Seio pump?? MT79 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-18-2005 08:19 PM
RIO Pump mod for Bakpak fireman26m Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 08-25-2004 09:42 PM
Rio pump? medge00 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 02-18-2004 12:18 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.