Anything else i need?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zer0

is back to save the day!
Alright well.. i'm at the stage of drilling and then plumbing my tank now.. so i need a bit of help.. since i've never done this plumbing stuff before.

Alright so.. i have the overflow box(drilled), 1" bulkhead with fittings and everything, and a 1/2" return kit, which i will be drilling the tank for the return. I will be drilling the return as close to the water line as possible so there is minimal drain-back in to the sump if the pump shuts off. I just wanted to keep the top of the tank clean and wire/hose free since it's a rimless design, and since i can just drill near the water line and achieve the same effect as if the return line was sitting above the tank.

Anyways, are there any other fittings i need besides the flexible vinyl tubing? The return pump has the barbbed adapters so i stick the hose on it.. and... i think that's it lol.

Let me know if i missed anything or if there is anything else i need. Also.. how do i connect the hose to the overflow bulkhead? Do i just put silicone in the bulkhead and then shove the hose in there and then silicone the part where the hose and bulkhead meet? Also, would it be wise to silicone the hose to the return pump? Or should i just use teflon tape for that application since i might need to disconnect the two..?

Thanks.

the return will have a directional exhaust port, like loc-line or similar, correct? if so, you will need to worry about how that is positioned more so than the position of the return bulkhead.
what size return pump are you using and what is the overflow rated for? you may need a ball valve at the exhaust port of the return pump.