Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-12-2011, 08:03 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homedog98

That method can alter the results... Just saying.
How?
__________________

__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 08:07 AM   #12
member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 5,876
I'm not sure why, but I think it's from the amount of air that gets in. I stop my tubes from leaking by holding the sides of the cap, wrapping everything but the cap in a paper towel, shake, and hold on for dear life!
__________________

__________________
Homedog98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 08:52 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 64
I have the same problem. I leak tested all of the tubes and caps and found one set that does not leak so it's the only one I use. I'm trying to find some cork or rubber stoppers for the tubes. I absolutely believe that the leaking can and will alter the test results because the chemicals being tested are measured in parts per million. There is no way of knowing how much reagent has leaked during the shaking process which will throw off the entire test.
For the cost of the API kits, you would think they could use a better stopper.
__________________
JBsDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 09:48 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homedog98 View Post
That method can alter the results... Just saying.
No, you misread his post. Read it again. He's not putting his finger directly over the open end of the tube and exposing it to the water and chemicals inside. He's holding the cap down with his finger.
__________________
jonnythan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 09:51 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBsDad View Post
I absolutely believe that the leaking can and will alter the test results because the chemicals being tested are measured in parts per million.
No, a little leaking won't alter the test results. You're measuring the concentration of certain molecules in the water. Yes, they're in parts per million, but when you leak a little bit of the solution, you're leaking the solute and the solvent (and the test chemicals) roughly equally. You'd need to remove a significant portion of the solute without removing any solvent (or vice versa) to seriously affect the results. It's not an issue, trust me.
__________________
jonnythan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 11:37 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HUKIT's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411°N/88.3161°W
Posts: 6,932
I play musical caps, having over 20 test tubes and caps it's a game to find out which cap is the tightest. Otherwise I just wrap it tightly with a paper towel.
__________________
Those Who Lack The Courage Will Always Find A Philosophy To Justify It.

HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 12:14 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 700
This is a problem for me as well.. And I also find it helps if I place my thumb on bottom and index finger on top cap squeeze gently and then shake away. But for safety I always wrap papertowel around it prior to doing this as well...
__________________
~Tasha ~ Live~love~laugh ~
For help with cycling and other great articles:
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articles/
Tasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 02:10 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Is it necessary to shake the test tubes? Or it sufficient to just turn it up and down? Hope I'm not off topic. But I think that helps with the leakage abit
__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 02:16 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubert90 View Post
Is it necessary to shake the test tubes? Or it sufficient to just turn it up and down? Hope I'm not off topic. But I think that helps with the leakage abit
It's important for the nitrate test. The others are fine with turning up and down a few times.
__________________
jonnythan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 02:23 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
missie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 348
yup here too- i hope it doesnt mess with the results!
__________________

__________________
missie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, design, test, test kit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
API KH Test Kit Zer0 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 07-11-2010 03:23 PM
API Test Kit Woody5465 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 07-29-2009 01:26 PM
API Test Kit vs Test Strips--Dead fish--No Refund Jewel Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-31-2008 12:35 AM
Where to purchase API Test kit? Gundy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 06-13-2007 08:21 PM
API Test Kit: which way is correct ? topgundcp Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 01-17-2007 05:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.