Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-12-2011, 02:23 PM   #21
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by RYANLAWRENCE View Post
Does anyone else's API test tubes leak when you shake them? I find this quite annoying not to mention semi dangerous since a lot of the chemical are strong acids haha. Anyone else have this annoying problem?
I'm curious to know what you're testing for that employes a strong acid solution? While many of the chemicals from test kits may be hazardous if ingested or exposed to the eye, to my knowledge none employ a strong acid. While some acids are used for some tests (such as sulfuric acid) at a 0.030N concentration they hardly qualify as a strong acid - vinegar or Coca-Cola probably has a more corrosive effect than it does.
__________________

__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 02:29 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wy Renegade

I'm curious to know what you're testing for that employes a strong acid solution? While many of the chemicals from test kits may be hazardous if ingested or exposed to the eye, to my knowledge none employ a strong acid. While some acids are used for some tests (such as sulfuric acid) at a 0.030N concentration they hardly qualify as a strong acid - vinegar or Coca-Cola probably has a more corrosive effect than it does.
Well obviously some of us aint as knowledgable with chemical as u do. The word sulfuric acid just prompts danger to us. Haha
__________________

__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 02:58 PM   #23
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubert90 View Post
Well obviously some of us aint as knowledgable with chemical as u do. The word sulfuric acid just prompts danger to us. Haha
Gotcha, was just curious if you all were testing for something I wasn't LOL.
__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 03:27 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
Yeah I'm gonna try just wrapping a paper towel around it. It really only rears it's ugly head on the nitrate test when you have to shake it for a minute. And I don't know if they are strong or not but regardless you are spilling chemicals on your hands. That cannot be a good thing. It can't be that hard to design a good test tube
__________________
40 gallon FOWLR
-2 ocellaris clowns (mated pair)
-1 diadem pseudochromis
-1 flame hawkfish
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 03:44 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubert90 View Post
Is it necessary to shake the test tubes? Or it sufficient to just turn it up and down? Hope I'm not off topic. But I think that helps with the leakage abit
The instructions are pretty specific if you want accurate results. On the pH tests you can invert it a few times, but the ammo and no2 need to be shaken for 5 seconds.

The no3 is the one I hated, till I realized that I didn't need to simulate a paint shaker at HD lol. I figured out that if I don't press down hard on the cap (deforming the natural seal) and turned the tube cap down, shake it (normal for 5ml), maybe 1 or 2 drops leaks out now. Before I was pressing hard on the cap, shaking it really hard wrapped in a rag and half the liquid would leak out as I wondered what chems are poisoning me :P.

I also use a kind of syringe to fill the tube too, so it doesn't take 5 minutes to get the level right a 5ml lol.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 04:00 PM   #26
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
Salifert test kits come with syringes and most don't have to be shaken. FWIW
__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 04:06 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
Salifert would be ideal but some of us are on a budget lol. But thanks for the new tip! I will have to try that on nitrate
__________________
40 gallon FOWLR
-2 ocellaris clowns (mated pair)
-1 diadem pseudochromis
-1 flame hawkfish
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 07:07 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kay-bee19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnythan View Post
No, a little leaking won't alter the test results. You're measuring the concentration of certain molecules in the water. Yes, they're in parts per million, but when you leak a little bit of the solution, you're leaking the solute and the solvent (and the test chemicals) roughly equally. You'd need to remove a significant portion of the solute without removing any solvent (or vice versa) to seriously affect the results. It's not an issue, trust me.
I think it depends on the type of test.

With test kits such as ammonia, nitrate, nitrite, pH (with a designated number of drops) I'll probably agree with you there.

But with test kits that require additional drops after shaking (with the result depending an undesignated number of drops added as is the case with the calcium, alkalinity, general hardness, etc) the leaking might skew results.
__________________
Rift Lake and Reef tanks.
kay-bee19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 11:07 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnythan View Post
No, a little leaking won't alter the test results. You're measuring the concentration of certain molecules in the water. Yes, they're in parts per million, but when you leak a little bit of the solution, you're leaking the solute and the solvent (and the test chemicals) roughly equally. You'd need to remove a significant portion of the solute without removing any solvent (or vice versa) to seriously affect the results. It's not an issue, trust me.
I respectfully disagree. If it were completely mixed into a true solution, you would be correct. However, many times the tubes start leaking as soon as shaking begins, before a true solution is achieved. How could a person know exactly what ratio of water and reagent have escaped? The amount leaked is not a little bit in my case, but as much as half the volume. I won't trust a test after that much has leaked out.
__________________
JBsDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 12:17 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Batt4Christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 634
Furthermore- API doesn't care- I bought my first of their master test kits in 1989- and today's kids suck just as badly (as far as leaky test tube caps)
__________________

__________________
Batt4Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, design, test, test kit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
API KH Test Kit Zer0 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 07-11-2010 03:23 PM
API Test Kit Woody5465 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 07-29-2009 01:26 PM
API Test Kit vs Test Strips--Dead fish--No Refund Jewel Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-31-2008 12:35 AM
Where to purchase API Test kit? Gundy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 06-13-2007 08:21 PM
API Test Kit: which way is correct ? topgundcp Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 01-17-2007 05:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.