Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-12-2011, 01:17 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
API test kit design Fail?

Does anyone else's API test tubes leak when you shake them? I find this quite annoying not to mention semi dangerous since a lot of the chemical are strong acids haha. Anyone else have this annoying problem?
__________________

__________________
40 gallon FOWLR
-2 ocellaris clowns (mated pair)
-1 diadem pseudochromis
-1 flame hawkfish
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 01:19 AM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: memphis,tn
Posts: 3,222
yea!!and then when you drop them in the sink they break!!! ive broken 2 luckily they were extras.
__________________

__________________
allaboutfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 01:20 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bettababe1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest
Posts: 5,447
Yeah. It's odd. Considering I'm a klutz, I've spilled small amounts on myself and freaked out. But nothing happened. I had no reaction. But it could be a danger. And an annoyance as well.
__________________
Fish are friends, not food!
-Dakota
Bettababe1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 03:25 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 587
I do too, and most of the time, its from the nitrate test tube. I was all of my tubes at once so the chances of me always using the same test tube and cap for my nitrate is very small
__________________
Henry405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 03:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Ditto! I wonder if it alters the results in anyways
__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 04:03 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 150
Mine did leak at first when shaking but just use your thumb on the bottom of the tube and index finger on the cap and press, at least that stopped mine from leaking when shaking.

Oh and, the Nutrafin kit's are worse as the cap sits inside the glass opening.
The air trapped inside lifts the cap no matter what I do.
__________________
36 Bowfront
j2112j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 07:20 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fishbone13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 325
Yup same problem here. A real crappy design.
__________________
MIke....
Fishbone13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 07:30 AM   #8
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Moved to General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 07:47 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Wonder y eheim, fluval and sachem don't design their own test kit. Unless they already have!
__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 08:02 AM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 5,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by j2112j
Mine did leak at first when shaking but just use your thumb on the bottom of the tube and index finger on the cap and press, at least that stopped mine from leaking when shaking.

Oh and, the Nutrafin kit's are worse as the cap sits inside the glass opening.
The air trapped inside lifts the cap no matter what I do.
That method can alter the results... Just saying.
__________________

__________________
Homedog98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, design, test, test kit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
API KH Test Kit Zer0 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 07-11-2010 03:23 PM
API Test Kit Woody5465 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 07-29-2009 01:26 PM
API Test Kit vs Test Strips--Dead fish--No Refund Jewel Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-31-2008 12:35 AM
Where to purchase API Test kit? Gundy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 06-13-2007 08:21 PM
API Test Kit: which way is correct ? topgundcp Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 01-17-2007 05:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.