Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-08-2012, 12:47 AM   #101
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 429
What I have started doing to avoid the whole tap water issue is to go to the grocery store and buy ro water from the dispenser where you fill the jugs by yourself. Its only 55 cents per gallon and saves me from buying an ro filter. Granted I only have a 29 gal tank so it only costs me 2.75 or so every 2 weeks. It works like a charm.
__________________

__________________
jwalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 12:52 AM   #102
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalsh
What I have started doing to avoid the whole tap water issue is to go to the grocery store and buy ro water from the dispenser where you fill the jugs by yourself. Its only 55 cents per gallon and saves me from buying an ro filter. Granted I only have a 29 gal tank so it only costs me 2.75 or so every 2 weeks. It works like a charm.
Are you replacing the minerals removed during the RO process? They are needed by the fish, plants and bacteria and needed for a stable pH.
__________________

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:51 AM   #103
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 429
Sure are. Seems to be working great so far. I would just rather have control of what's in my water than have to play guessing games with tap water
__________________
jwalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 07:03 PM   #104
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocminpin View Post
Mumma... I NEED YOU!! Question: why is the 10 ppm slightly darker than the 20 ppm on the color chart?
This is a great question and one I was wondering about as well.

I'm fortunate my water ends up pretty darn yellow for a result of 0 for the nitrate test. But I'd be pretty annoyed and confused if my water ended up orange for the nitrate test....as I would then have no idea if i had 5 ppm, 10 ppm, or 20 ppm.
__________________

__________________
Fish24907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, test, test kit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reef Master Test Kit rambo1224 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 11-29-2011 08:57 AM
Help me with these test results! hollyml Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 22 09-03-2011 11:17 PM
Booyah - Nitrates Baby chrisinmontreal Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 30 08-30-2011 10:42 PM
Can you do the API Nitrite test wrong? pookawolf Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 08-28-2011 10:47 AM
api gh and kh test kit tmdavies Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-03-2011 12:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.