Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-28-2011, 10:04 PM   #81
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocminpin

Since i feel like I've done 50,000 water changes in the last 3 days I'm past talking and the frustration to BEGGING... LOL
Begging who?? Hmm the fish? The water? The bucket? The test tube?? Dont know!
Its the principle!! ;D
__________________

__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 03:24 AM   #82
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ocminpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2,279
Send a message via AIM to ocminpin Send a message via Yahoo to ocminpin Send a message via Skype™ to ocminpin
Mumma... I NEED YOU!! Question: why is the 10 ppm slightly darker than the 20 ppm on the color chart?
__________________

__________________
ocminpin
ocminpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 03:45 AM   #83
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocminpin
Mumma... I NEED YOU!! Question: why is the 10 ppm slightly darker than the 20 ppm on the color chart?
I have no idea sorry!
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 03:56 AM   #84
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ocminpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2,279
Send a message via AIM to ocminpin Send a message via Yahoo to ocminpin Send a message via Skype™ to ocminpin
My 29g showed 10 ppm!

How is this possible if my tap is 20 and earlier showed 40?
I was very careful with testing... Only thing different this time is it's been 5 hrs since PWC
__________________
ocminpin
ocminpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 03:59 AM   #85
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocminpin
My 29g showed 10 ppm!

How is this possible if my tap is 20 and earlier showed 40?
I was very careful with testing... Only thing different this time is it's been 5 hrs since PWC
I can only suggest you test again and compare results. Make sure you shake the snot out of the test solution and tube. Then wait exactly 5 minutes.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 12:05 PM   #86
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Re-read the Nitrate test specifically and follow the directions exactly. There is a step in there I don't think you're doing. I don't remember it exactly off the top of my head but its like this:

Shake bottles. Fill tube up. Drop bottle #1 however many times it says. Cork tube. Shake tube to mix up bottle #1 and water for time listed. THEN you drop in bottle #2.

I don't remember you mentioning the shaking between bottle#1 and bottle#2. It also says to shake bottle #2 for a full minute before using it.

I've only used the test once so far as I'm new to getting my own aquarium, but I remember that much.


Also: As for your tap water readings: If you run the water for a few minutes before testing you might find different results, and since you've been using so much water lately you may have flushed out alot of the bad things from your plumbing system and are now getting a bit fresher/less metal/ammonia'd water perhaps.

Anyways, my first post and I hope it goes well!
__________________
Arete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 12:19 PM   #87
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ocminpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2,279
Send a message via AIM to ocminpin Send a message via Yahoo to ocminpin Send a message via Skype™ to ocminpin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arete
Re-read the Nitrate test specifically and follow the directions exactly. There is a step in there I don't think you're doing. I don't remember it exactly off the top of my head but its like this:

Shake bottles. Fill tube up. Drop bottle #1 however many times it says. Cork tube. Shake tube to mix up bottle #1 and water for time listed. THEN you drop in bottle #2.

I don't remember you mentioning the shaking between bottle#1 and bottle#2. It also says to shake bottle #2 for a full minute before using it.

I've only used the test once so far as I'm new to getting my own aquarium, but I remember that much.

Also: As for your tap water readings: If you run the water for a few minutes before testing you might find different results, and since you've been using so much water lately you may have flushed out alot of the bad things from your plumbing system and are now getting a bit fresher/less metal/ammonia'd water perhaps.

Anyways, my first post and I hope it goes well!
Hi Arete

You may have got it!
I fill test tube to line tank water, shake both bottles 2 mins.... Drop bottle 1 in tube, drop bottle 2 in, cap, shake 2 mins, sit 5 mins exactly and read.
I haven't been shaking tube between bottles... :-0
__________________
ocminpin
ocminpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 12:51 PM   #88
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sisserydoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melvin, Illinois
Posts: 438
This is probably a stupid question...I also got a test kit for Christmas (yay!) and I noticed that you mentioned the red tabs on the bottles. They were giving me heck, so I cut them off. Were they supposed to stay on the bottle?
__________________
Sisserydoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 01:43 PM   #89
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Definitely do NOT cut them off.

They are meant to kept the caps on the chemicals as they are quite poisonous from what I read in the directions.

There is a red band around the cap, and it has a raised portion on one side. What this does is "click" into the grooves of the caps themselves. If you grip the bottle with one hand, and press down on one side of that raised portion you can then twist the caps off normally. It takes a few tries but once you get the hang of it, its pretty easy.
__________________
Arete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 01:59 PM   #90
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sisserydoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melvin, Illinois
Posts: 438
whoops!!! already cut the dang things off! I don't have small children, so I think I'm okay. I'll know better next time, thanks
__________________

__________________
Sisserydoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, test, test kit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reef Master Test Kit rambo1224 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 11-29-2011 08:57 AM
Help me with these test results! hollyml Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 22 09-03-2011 11:17 PM
Booyah - Nitrates Baby chrisinmontreal Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 30 08-30-2011 10:42 PM
Can you do the API Nitrite test wrong? pookawolf Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 08-28-2011 10:47 AM
api gh and kh test kit tmdavies Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-03-2011 12:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.