Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-29-2008, 02:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
AQ 70 gallon filter, carbon with plants?!

I've read that with planted tanks there's no need to use the carbon insert, since it takes away some of the nutrients from the water for the plants.

Just checking others' opinions!
__________________

__________________
asymphony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 03:01 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
As far as I know, activated carbon does not remove the nutrients that plants use. Activated carbon is best used to remove tannins and medications from water. From my experience, activated carbon will only last for 3-4 weeks, after that it simply becomes more surface area for bacteria to grow on in your filter.
__________________

__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

http://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 03:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Hmm, so then it would be useful for the setting up and cycling of a tank and then after everything is established, I won't need a new one, and just let the bacteria thrive?

It also reduces that "fishy" smell, no?
__________________
asymphony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 04:01 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SpeedEuphoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BCM
Posts: 1,225
Many people dont use carbon, except for removing medications/tannins.ect.. like black hills mentioned

Other use it or purigen regularly:
Seachem. Purigen

I personally feel its not needed and dont use either
__________________
10G,Planted- Endler's Livebearers+RCS, 55G,planted
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
Understanding the basics will let you make informed decisions on what advice to follow, and what advice is just plain hooey!
SpeedEuphoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carbon, filter, plant, plants

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
carbon in filter? times10 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 02-25-2009 01:38 PM
carbon filter swjunkie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-03-2006 12:09 AM
Does activated carbon take nutrients away from my plants? gfink Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 07-08-2005 11:51 PM
carbon filter msamsonz28 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 05-21-2005 06:02 PM
Carbon in filter ... Fishy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-19-2003 04:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.