Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-28-2014, 11:13 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 559
Aqua clear 110 filter

Hi,

Ive decided to go w an Aqua clear 110 hang on filter for my 75. Question does everything come in the box or do i need to purchase something that I dont know about? Thanks for the help

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
CichlidLady0312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by CichlidLady0312 View Post
Hi,

Ive decided to go w an Aqua clear 110 hang on filter for my 75. Question does everything come in the box or do i need to purchase something that I dont know about? Thanks for the help

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Yes, everything comes in the box.

Though, I wouldn't use the carbon that comes with it. I don't think there's any reason to use carbon, other than to remove medication and tannins. I would go and purchase an extra foam filter insert instead.
__________________

__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 10:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 408
Based on what you said here about your stock and the advice to get a canister:

Filtering

I am not sure you have enough filtration there at 6 x versus the 8-10 x filtration people on this forum normally recommend.

I was also worried about dead spots in a large tank like you'll see discussed here,

Optimal Filtration

but I see in one of your other posts you also ordered a powerhead. I assume that should take care of dead spots. It also appears if you attach a sponge to it, you'll get some extra mechanical and biological filtration.

Be aware of the bypass issues on the aquaclears:

AquaClear Bypass Issues

[I had to duct tape the holes on my AC50 get it to work properly .... I have three Fluval C series which are far superior]

Unlike the Fluval C series (too bad they don't make a C5), the AquaClear will not give you crystal clear, polished water "out of the box" because the sponge is not "graduated" and does not get out fine micron particles. To get crystal clear water, most people use tightly packed floss (Sera Wool is the best), usually in lieu of carbon.

Fortunately, the AC70 & 110 have deep enough "media baskets" for lots of media so for chemical filtration, you should use Seachem Purigen. In the end it is cheaper than carbon ...... it lasts 4-6 months and can be re-charged.

Best wishes
__________________
Paul1792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 08:46 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 559
Thanks. Ive also ordered a sun sun stage 5 525 uv sterilizer canister filter

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
CichlidLady0312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 08:47 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul1792 View Post
Based on what you said here about your stock and the advice to get a canister:

Filtering

I am not sure you have enough filtration there at 6 x versus the 8-10 x filtration people on this forum normally recommend.

I was also worried about dead spots in a large tank like you'll see discussed here,

Optimal Filtration

but I see in one of your other posts you also ordered a powerhead. I assume that should take care of dead spots. It also appears if you attach a sponge to it, you'll get some extra mechanical and biological filtration.

Be aware of the bypass issues on the aquaclears:

AquaClear Bypass Issues

[I had to duct tape the holes on my AC50 get it to work properly .... I have three Fluval C series which are far superior]

Unlike the Fluval C series (too bad they don't make a C5), the AquaClear will not give you crystal clear, polished water "out of the box" because the sponge is not "graduated" and does not get out fine micron particles. To get crystal clear water, most people use tightly packed floss (Sera Wool is the best), usually in lieu of carbon.

Fortunately, the AC70 & 110 have deep enough "media baskets" for lots of media so for chemical filtration, you should use Seachem Purigen. In the end it is cheaper than carbon ...... it lasts 4-6 months and can be re-charged.

Best wishes
Thanks for the info!!

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
CichlidLady0312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 09:39 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by CichlidLady0312 View Post
Thanks. Ive also ordered a sun sun stage 5 525 uv sterilizer canister filter

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
******
WOW - that should do it for you.

Since I am looking at getting a used 55 gallon, I am going to look into something on that order. Let us know how it works out.
__________________
Paul1792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 10:01 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 559
I will thanks. I checked Amazon and the reviews were all positive but I will definitely update once my tank is up and running

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
CichlidLady0312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 05:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
bobbyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubert90 View Post
Yes, everything comes in the box.

Though, I wouldn't use the carbon that comes with it. I don't think there's any reason to use carbon, other than to remove medication and tannins. I would go and purchase an extra foam filter insert instead.

It comes ready to go just rinse the media set media media shown and you'll be good to go
__________________

__________________
bobbyS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clear, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aqua clear filter 110 Stang23456 Cichlid Discussion 14 03-29-2013 03:17 AM
Air bubbles coming out of Aqua Clear Model 110 JoeZ General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 07-31-2012 05:56 PM
Aqua clear 110 or 2 70's littlebitlarisa Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 19 12-03-2011 06:12 AM
Aqua clear 110 don0101 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 04-03-2011 04:11 PM
aqua clear 500/110 sir_dudeguy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-09-2006 01:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.