Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-17-2004, 12:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 60
Aqua-Clear 300 not working

I hate having to unplug my Aqua-clear filters when I do a water change cuz often they won't start up again when I plug them in. Usually when that happens (pretty much every second time I do a water change) I clean the entire filter housing and I remove the motor so I can clean the impeller and I take a q-tip and get any gunk out from inside where the impeller sits.

Well this morning I did a water change on my 65 gallon and no matter how much I cleaned the motor out it just won't start again.
__________________

__________________
Pugwinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2004, 12:21 PM   #2
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
I usually suggest a small bottle-brush to clean out the impeller well, as they are more efficient, and will not leave any bits of cotton behind. That being said, did you make sure the motor and impeller were cool before trying to start-up? If your AC300 is more than a year old, have you checked for uneven wear on the impeller shaft recently? Will the impeller start up if you reach in and give it an initial 'flick' with your fingertip?
__________________

__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2004, 06:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toirtis
I usually suggest a small bottle-brush to clean out the impeller well, as they are more efficient, and will not leave any bits of cotton behind. That being said, did you make sure the motor and impeller were cool before trying to start-up? If your AC300 is more than a year old, have you checked for uneven wear on the impeller shaft recently? Will the impeller start up if you reach in and give it an initial 'flick' with your fingertip?
Hey there! The filter was very much cooled down before I attempted to start it. I think the water change took me almost an hour. As for uneven wear on the impeller shaft I have no idea. It looks just fine to me. I don't think the impeller is going to start by giving it a flick with my fingertip as I don't think the problem is the impeller so much as the fact that the motor doesn't start at all. How would the impeller start moving if the motor won't start? Does the impeller start the motor?!?!?? Forgive my ignorance but I just don't understand.
__________________
Pugwinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2004, 06:29 PM   #4
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
The motor doesn't 'start' so much, as it is a magnetically driven unit with little to no moving parts. Try nudging the impeller a few times with your finger to get it spinning.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2004, 06:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toirtis
The motor doesn't 'start' so much, as it is a magnetically driven unit with little to no moving parts. Try nudging the impeller a few times with your finger to get it spinning.
Whew! I'm so glad you explained that to me. I had no idea that there were little to no moving parts. I will give the impeller a bit of a nudge and see if that does the trick. Luckily I had an extra AC300 sitting in my closet just waiting for a problem like this to occur so the tank is well filtered again. I will check it out again tomorrow. I just spent the day cleaning it up in a vinegar/water mixture so the filter looks like new now. I just hope I can get the darn thing to work again.

If I do get it working again, is it okay to put it away for another rainy day when I have another problem or should I put it right back in the tank and put the new one back in the box?
__________________
Pugwinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aqua Clear problems? Taelen Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 03-29-2009 08:40 AM
Aqua Clear Filter Necessary? weekf General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 01-01-2006 11:01 PM
Aqua Clear Diffuser azn_fishy55 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 12-12-2005 02:32 AM
My aqua CLear feeder_guppy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 03-26-2005 01:58 AM
aqua clear 300 transformation? jacktheknife DIY Projects 9 12-11-2004 08:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.