Aqua Clear Filter Necessary?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

weekf

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi guys I have got a 20gal and have been running a Prizm skimmer since the first day. But in the mean time I am running an Aqua Clear 20/Mini with the sponge and carbon insert is this necessary? My activated carbon and sponge and Prizm skimmer all have been running since day one. Will the Prizm skimmer itself do up most of the cleaning? Thanks in advance.

I thought it should be the other way round means only run the skimmer without filter. I also heard that using carbon long term will reduce trace element.

Yes, but since you are running both (with my AC, it is a fuge, so no media in it).....I would swap out that carbon for biomedia or macroalgae, eventually.

sorry to sound stupid but what is a fuge? i am still new to saltwater aquarium. thanks.

The sponge will eventually become a nitrate factory, in the AquaClear. If you have corals that like to toxify the water, i.e. leathers, then carbon is an okay idea, but should be changed out regularly. Carbon, some kinds anyway, have been known to leech PO4 into the water. I only use my HOB filter to run carbon, once weekly for a couple of days(to polish and detoxify the water) and for flow. On a tank that size, regular and consistent water changes are the best filtration for you. I would also stay away from bio-balls and the like, they too, over time, will become nitrate factories. HTH!

I have hob's on my smaller tanks but only run them for extra flow. I removed the filter media and replaced it with liverock rubble. This is something you could consider as well.