Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-14-2012, 01:42 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
macman7010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 833
Yeah I think that would be alright. Although try turning the green and yellow slides on the side. It may be adjustable.
__________________

__________________
Want a great read check out my debut novel Neptune's Garden: www.neptunesgardenbook.com
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7vYW3b-rJA
macman7010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 01:58 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
macman7010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 833
sorry posted twice.
__________________

__________________
Want a great read check out my debut novel Neptune's Garden: www.neptunesgardenbook.com
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7vYW3b-rJA
macman7010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 02:48 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
The green switch adjusts flow strength and the yellow switch changes flow direction. Remember the flow you have at 0 head is much stronger than what you'll have at a 10' head.

Yours is also fully submersible, so no worries there.
__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 01:44 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
Yea at ten feet it's probably really slow, if it can even handle that. My quiet one 4000 is rated at 1000gph and around 10gph at 10 feet. Your gonna need a pretty powerful pump or one made specifically for high head applications.
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 01:50 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
Can I ask y u need you top off all the way in the basement anyways? If your gonna go thru all that, might as well put a sump down there IMO. I'm actually considering that on my 40g, and using this pond that's sitting in my garage for a refugium. Then time for the mandarins
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 01:53 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAhner View Post
Can I ask y u need you top off all the way in the basement anyways? If your gonna go thru all that might as well put a sump down there IMO.
To be honest, I wouldn't mind having a 500 gallon top off reservoir in my basement!

Or, at least a means to have my top off water automated. I think that would be best.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:26 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KAhner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
Yea I mean just run your ro to a bucket with a float. No need for huge reservoir.
__________________
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 06:50 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 111
Never thought about that. This would make things so much easier. Now I'm gonna put some serious though into this. Thanks
__________________
Fozzy225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 08:07 PM   #19
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General Hardware and equipment Discussion.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 aqua clear 50's enough? AquaticAl Cichlid Discussion 5 02-12-2012 01:03 PM
Aqua lifter dosing pump rafatoy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 02-09-2012 01:45 PM
Aqua Clear 70 Talvari Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 12-16-2011 06:25 PM
Aqua lifter for overflow box. standridge32 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 10-23-2011 02:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.