Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-18-2010, 05:32 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 130
Question AQUA Tech power filter 5-15

I have searched high and low for a low cost, 5-gallon aquarium kit that includes a cfl lighting, that includes a filter with decent bio area.

I have looked closely at the eclipse systems and various others, and thought I had settled on a marineland manufactured kit sold under Wal-Mart's brand as the Aqua Culture Home Aquarium Starter Kit 5, which comes with the Aqua Tech Power Filter 5 - 15, which does not appear to be adjustable.

Only thing is this is for a betta, and it seems the flow rate is 100 gph, which i think is much too strong, most fiters, depending on brand 100 gph was too strong even in a 10 G tank.

It seemed the max for him was about 7 - 8x per gallon per hour turnover, i.e. 35-40 gph in a 5G tank or 70 - 80 gph in a ten gallon tank.

Also, have not been able to find many reviews, but seems there are a significant portion of the few i could find said it does not work properly, clean all that well, or the impeller has to be cleaned often.

Does anyone have this filter in a 5G with a betta?

Is there anything I can do to slow down the flow rate, (besides cutting the impeller, which I understand has to be done evenly on all blades), i.e. can I stuff some poly-fill in there or something?
__________________

__________________
Approximately 1.25 acres of rainforest is lost every second, destroying the ecosystem and altering global weather / rainfall patterns upon which we all depend.
michaelg210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 08:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Lifting the intake tube will adjust the flow rate.
__________________

__________________
sktamura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 09:11 PM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Not sure on that one in particular, but as stated above many HOBs you can adjust the flow rate by adjusting the height of the intake tube into the HOB reservoir. You could also jam something in there to limit the flow rate too I guess.

Another thing that's possible is getting some thin lexan or plexi at your hardware store and creating like a ramp that extends off your HOB's return into the tank, thus allowing the water energy to dissipate at the very surface of the tank without increasing the flow velocity into the tank. This allows for you to get the full benefits of the 100gph filtering without the side effects of the water swirling around the tank.

Another option is to get a smaller filter. Azoo makes a palm filter or something that only does about 16gph. Might be lower than you want, but it would accomplish the purpose.

Rena I think makes an 80gph version of their smart filter. Have to confirm that to be sure on the flow rate, but that might work.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 10:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
I would suggest an AquaClear 20... it will do 100gph, but is adjustable to only flow 30gph (ish)... And to beat it all, its one the (if not the) best HOB filters you can get IMO
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 01:57 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 130
Thumbs up Gonna try this again another route

Quote:
Originally Posted by sktamura View Post
Lifting the intake tube will adjust the flow rate.


Quote:
Originally Posted by neilanh View Post
Not sure on that one in particular, but as stated above many HOBs you can adjust the flow rate by adjusting the height of the intake tube into the HOB reservoir. You could also jam something in there to limit the flow rate too I guess.
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilanh View Post

Another thing that's possible is getting some thin lexan or plexi at your hardware store and creating like a ramp that extends off your HOB's return into the tank, thus allowing the water energy to dissipate at the very surface of the tank without increasing the flow velocity into the tank. This allows for you to get the full benefits of the 100gph filtering without the side effects of the water swirling around the tank.

Another option is to get a smaller filter. Azoo makes a palm filter or something that only does about 16gph. Might be lower than you want, but it would accomplish the purpose.

Rena I think makes an 80gph version of their smart filter. Have to confirm that to be sure on the flow rate, but that might work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516 View Post
I would suggest an AquaClear 20... it will do 100gph, but is adjustable to only flow 30gph (ish)... And to beat it all, its one the (if not the) best HOB filters you can get IMO




Thank you all,

yes, my 10 G has an AC 20, I love it, but they are like $26….. I thought of switching the AC with the Aqua-Tech, if the A-tech is too much for the 5G…..
K, thanks, will try that stuffing something in there, also, had thought of stuffing some poly fill or an old filter foam pad in there…. Perhaps even a bag of the ceramic discs from the AC…..

I can look into that ramp idea, at first I thought you meant like a ramp all the way down to the bottom of the tank, which might look a bit funny in that small of a tank….

Re some of the filters mentioned, yes, Azoo, or even the Duetto has adjustable flow, but I hear they have to be cleaned a lot. Was also thinking of the Red Sea Nano filter, has really good reviews… dunno yet, I was hoping to avoid buying another filter, not so much for me, but the wife thinks I am hooked on the fish thing and spending too much money.

Will also check out the Rena
Ok, will try the lifting the intake tube idea also. if I have questions on it, look for a repost….
__________________
Approximately 1.25 acres of rainforest is lost every second, destroying the ecosystem and altering global weather / rainfall patterns upon which we all depend.
michaelg210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 03:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks!

I know this thread was a little old, but I followed the advice here with great results! Thank you!!
__________________

__________________
SueAnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqua tech, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WAL-MART Aqua Tech filter Overstocker General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 04-25-2011 12:25 AM
unplugged, aqua tech 5-15 help :( badhat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 09-20-2007 06:12 PM
unplugged, aqua tech 5-15 help badhat Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 09-20-2007 05:51 PM
aqua clear power filter and aquariaum decor vsnsofadrgn Archive 0 05-20-2007 02:53 PM
Aqua-Tech kits at Walmart look like Eclipse Systems gchen Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 01-02-2004 07:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.